Do you ignore the road signs too? And other social media DOHs.

Sign of Confirmation or Coincidence?
by Marcus Baker 

Foreword by Stan Faryna

Today is a good day. For me. And for you. Because below is Marcus Baker’s essay about signs. It is not about simple road signs (stop signs, yield signs, etc), but signs that beckon us to our true self, our destiny, and opportunity. Signs beckon us closer like a gesture that asks us lean our head closer to listen to a friend or lover who offers a secret or confidence whispered with great concern or deepest affection.

Signs are not annunciations. An annunciation as Leonardo da Vinci , Tiziano Vecelli (Titian), or El Greco portray in their paintings by the same name… is unmistakable in it’s divine authority. It is authoritative, explicit, and glorious. An annunciation, like a revelation, is the indisputable, unchangeable, and irrevocable truth.

And coming in, he said to her, “Greetings, favored one! The Lord is with you.” Luke 1:28

The angel Gabriel greets Mary and informs her that she will soon be with child, that her child was the son of God, and to name her son, Jesus.

An annunciation is wonderful. Like Love at the door, joyfully and enthusiastically calling out – “Hi, honey! I’m home!

I have often wondered if signs are for those of us who cannot bear to see and hear the truth.

Lean in and listen to what is spoken to you through Marcus’ words. Pay attention. You need to clear the next 30 minutes on your schedule. It shouldn’t take you more than 15 minutes to read it, but it will take you another 15 minutes to listen. Or more. Do that now: clear your schedule for this conference of hearts.  Do this – before you dive into this king’s ransom of iridescent pearls.

Why? I explain here.

I asked Marcus permission to re-publish his blog post here (see below) because I believe it important and useful. One reading is neither sufficient for me. Nor for you.

Marcus graciously agreed to my request and, also, to reply to your comments here.

Thank you, Marcus.

Stan Faryna
Bucharest, Romania
7 October 2011

Enigma, Return to Innocence

Sign of Confirmation or Coincidence?

… 

Have you ever noticed how much we rely on visual signs to help us navigate our way through life? There’s a good chance you don’t, simply because you’re so used to them being there.

Imagine however, if one morning you woke up and all signs had disappeared. There were no road signs, restroom signs, house number signs, store signs… no signs at all.

Would you notice then?

I’m sure you’d first become aware of the chaos and it wouldn’t take long to realize why.

Signs help us to know where we are and where we want to be. They communicate information, essential for us to make choices and feel secure.

If you’ve ever traveled to a foreign speaking country you’ll know how disorienting it can be when you don’t understand many of the signs.

Signs also exist in our personal lives to help us in the same way. They show us we are and how to move to where we want to be.

These are often not as obvious as the visual signs above. They may manifest as things happening or not happening, gut feelings, disappointments, opportunities and so on.

When we acknowledge that everything that happens in life is a sign of some kind and we stop long enough to take note of these events, then we are able to ‘read’ the signs and respond accordingly.

Sometimes signs appear to help us make changes and sometimes they appear after we have made the change to confirm that we are on track. This week I experienced an example of this.

Not long after upgrading to the latest version of WordPress, this blog started to behave most bizarrely in the admin area. Amongst other things, the formatting of posts would change randomly, comments would sometimes disappear for three days at a time and plugins revert to their default settings without any input from me. It was all a bit of a mystery.

I trawled the forums, WordPress and others to try and find an answer. I assumed it had to do with the update but this was inconclusive. The first action I took was to deactivate all plugins. It made no difference. Next I uninstalled them but still no change. I tried other themes temporarily but that didn’t help either.

Eventually I enlisted the help of a “WordPress Mechanic”, who after many hours left me this message: “Your blog’s code appears to be possessed. I’m sorry but I have no idea how to help you.”

If you’ve read my last few posts you’ll know that recently I have been going through some personal growth changes. What pushed me towards these were the many “signs” I experienced in my life.

I assumed that a feisty, misbehaved blog was just another, signaling of further proof that a change in direction was required. I added it to my growing list.

Then after publishing my last post in which I announced my decision to change my focus to one of personal and spiritual development rather than in combination with business and marketing, the shenanigans came to an end instantly.

Was this a sign of confirmation or co-incidence?

You’ll have your own opinion about this but had you just been through what I have, you’d know that there was no way it could be anything other than a sign.

Do you believe in signs pointing you towards change in life?

Have you had any interesting experiences with signs that seemed to confirm that what you were doing was in alignment with your life’s journey?

Have your say in the comments section and I’ll meet you there. Please share this post with your followers in case they may like to join in the discussion here too. Thank you.

Be Happy!

Marcus

……………………………………………………………………………………………….

About Marcus Baker

Marcus Baker started learning how to access his inner power from a young age. He is passionate about empowering others to connect within, with others and life which he does as a teacher, writer, speaker and life purpose consultant. He blogs about personal development and related topics. 

Please connect with Marcus via…

Facebook
Twitter
Google Plus
http://www.marcus-baker.com/

……………………………………………………………………………………………….

57 Responses to Do you ignore the road signs too? And other social media DOHs.

  1. Betsy Cross says:

    My whole life is a series of signs and promptings that amaze me. I’m sure there are some more recent, but the “Geocaching for the Dead” post turned out to be a sign that opened up a new direction for my life,,,possibilities of adventure and making family dreams and wishes come true. I just pay attention to thoughts and occurrences and make the (naive) assumption that everything’s connected and “meant to be”. I wouldn’t want to live any other way.

    • Stan Faryna says:

      “I wouldn’t want to live any other way.”

      For a life without signs is like a life without love. Like a life without a heart beat. Like Lazarus darkly brooding at the foot of the cross among bitterly weeping women. Like a life without poetry.

      Like poetry, the thrill of a sign is in the trying. Like sex. The temptation is as sweet and juicy as the mystery of the fruit. Like a song that you sing the lines to, again and again. Just as the American poet, Anthony Hecht, said of poetry. You speak of signs in your heart or among your closest friends, again and again… “until they pass through the stage of sounding like nonsense, and finally return to a full sense that had at first escaped notice.”

      • Betsy Cross says:

        Stan, you’re deep! LOL!
        I had an amazing morning and thought about this post. I read this post yesterday and also John Falchetto’s about getting stuck. He asked what do you do when you get stuck? http://expatlifecoach.com/expat-30/trying-reach-goals/ . I said I get up and do do something. And that happened today. Life was going nowhere so I got up and fulfilled our family’s assignment to clean our church building. I met a woman (she was there to use the phone) and we talked for a while. I thought she worked in the family history center. She doesn’t. But, of course, if you know me the conversation went to family history! We talked and talked, Her husband and mine might share some ancestors through marriage. But my real point telling this really long and boring tale, is that I was about to call it quits with family history. I kept hitting dead ends. But I got up and did something. And my passion was rekindled. I swear I heard laughing in the hallways as I vacuumed all by myself. “Phew! We almost lost her!” I’m still laughing about how weird it was. I live for moments like that…
        Thanks for this post. There’s nowhere else to talk about stuff like this right now! Came at a perfect time for me.

      • Marcus Baker says:

        “Like a life without a heart beat” Love it Stan and yes Betsy is spot on, you are deep. Never give that up, not that I think you ever could.

        Signs pulse like a heart beat… do we feel them, do we see them, what do we do with them? That’s the question.

        Betsy you followed a sign to do something that many others would not even have seen and from that followed a rekindling of your passion. Brilliant!

        People often tell me they are waiting till they feel better before they take action and I always say take the action first and then you will feel better.

        I just ranted on a bit in a comment on Janet Calaway’s blog about procrastination which follows this same line of thought.

        Why argue for limitations when we are not limited? Choose to exercise your power, the signs are calling you, how will you respond?

  2. Marcus Baker says:

    Hi Betsy,

    It’s all in “paying attention”…

    When we do, then we see and feel the signs. They are everywhere.

    Following them as you do leads you on an adventure which is fun when you have faith that whatever happens, will be for your highest good.

    I agree with you, once you have tasted life this way… there is no other way.

    ~Marcus

  3. Yogizilla says:

    I definitely believe in signs over mere coincidence and, quite often, we ignore our gut feeling because logic dictates other “rules”.. Rules trap our soul. Whenever I encounter a stumbling block, I consider the other opportunities opening up. We have those every day. For me, this week has been one of reflection and relaxation.. I feel more appreciative for what I have and I am more aware of everything now. Thank you for sharing this here, Marcus.. And thank YOU, Stan!

    • Marcus Baker says:

      Hey Yomar,

      We sometimes limit ourselves by believing signs have to manifest positively in ways that appear ‘normal’ to us.

      From experience I know that we are called to sit up and take notice when signs don’t appear to be signs at all. These are often the most significant signs.

      Being open and receptive is the key…

      Thanks for sharing your perspective on this.

      ~Marcus

    • Stan Faryna says:

      I like Marcus’ answer. Very much.

      “We sometimes limit ourselves by believing signs have to manifest positively in ways that appear ‘normal’ to us.”

      We are stubborn – as Marcus reminds us in kinder words.

      Does logic and reason truly dictate other rules, Yomar?

      I have wondered, pondered, and examined the contention like a dissecting frog in biology class. I have pinned the spread arms and legs, opened the argument with a scalpel, and it opened like the living room doors at Jefferson’s Monticello. Automagically.

      Opening those doors where doors were not before- I heard the splash of Matsuo Basho’s old pond. Captured like a firefly in a jar. Now that is haiku – until you count the syllables.

      And that is the same dilemma, Yomar. Neither logic nor reason dictate any of the rules which trap our souls, bind our wings, and make us grope on our hands and knees as if we were deaf, dumb, and blind.

      Instead, it is we who bind logic and reason to serve the rules of our pettiness just as a bear is made to dance to the beggar’s drum. Like the unrhythmic, glow of a firefly every time the jar is shaken hard.

      Furu ike ya
      kawazu tobikomu
      mizu no oto

      Good haiku, like a sign written by an angel, it can reveal the invisible hand in creation. Because, in fact, creation is a sign among other things. And that is why the old pond is more than words or syllables. More than a jar for a firefly. Or for a frog.

      The old pond
      A frog jumped in,
      Kerplunk!

      And I have wondered, pondered, and marveled at this question – if the master of the haiku speaks the language of angels? Or not. But if so, then Pure Reason – in other words.

      Poor Kant! For if I am right in my suspicions, Kant was so very far from truth.

  4. A college professor once gave me some advice that has stuck with me. He said, “James, don’t lock yourself into a mindset that requires you to become stagnant. Remember, we a sojourners in this life. God is sure to uproot you at times. Don’t be afraid to follow that leadership.”
    There have been many times in my life when various things have happened to uproot me, sometimes against my choosing. One such event, I just have to share.
    I own a contract with the USPS in Missouri. I was working there and had experienced some significant changes is life, having to spend weeks away from my family, etc. To make a long story short, I was feeling the urge for a change, praying about returning “home” to Georgia. One day, an extra label in a mail tray caught my eye. It was in a sleeve, behind the correct label. I pulled it out and to my surprise it was a tray label from my hometown, Warner Robins, GA. Coincidence? I don’t believe so. That was one of many things that ultimately led to our family coming “home” to Georgia a few years ago. I carried that label in my wallet for a few years as a reminder of the ‘mystery’ of God’s working in our lives.
    I always have a disclaimer in these types of discussions, however. We must have some discernment and maturity in the face of supposed ‘signs’. A buddy of mine has joked, “Some people mistake indigestion from last night’s bad pizza as a sign, when it is just a result of poor dietary choices.” There are times we do the same in more serious issues of life.
    Thanks for sharing this, Stan and Marcus.

    • Marcus Baker says:

      Hi James,

      Couldn’t agree more. You can turn anything into a sign if you choose to and in so doing, fool yourself that some random direction you have taken has been divinely inspired.

      In my experience, some signs are instantly undeniable but for me the happening is very personal. I don’t think it’s necessary to be broadcasting sign announcements to the rest of the world willy nilly.

      Certainly in the case of “…indigestion from last night’s bad pizza.” (Love it!!) and similar, these signs are best never announced or at least left till they have stood the test of time and spoken about in retrospect, if at all.

      I enjoyed reading your comment. Thank you.

      ~Marcus

      • After more than 20 years in ministry, I have heard many people declare themselves to have been told by God to do something or that they had received some sign from heaven…only to chicken out, fail miserably or to have mistaken their own desires for God’s certain leadership. I have seen this leave well-meaning, committed people in a state of disillusionment and doubt. Unfortunately, it has led some to discount God’s interest in their lives or has caused them to “wax cold” and stop “listening” altogether.

        I write this, not to throw a wet blanket on the discussion, but to encourage a vigilance and discernment. No doubt, our human infirmity can cause us to assign God’s will (or voice) to many things that find no support in Scripture. AND, like the Crusades, these events and circumstances give the enemy ammunition to advance his cause and hinder a clear testimony of the Truth.

    • Stan Faryna says:

      I love the disclaimer, James. I love the folly and the declaration.

      I read it like this:

      I am a fool. But I am not simply a fool. Nor anyone’s fool for I am only a fool for God.

      There’s poetry in that. And irony. Perhaps, a plot twist too. Or two.

      And I am reminded of Francis Thompson’s poem, The Hound of Heaven.

      It begins like this:

      I fled Him, down the nights and down the days;
      I fled Him, down the arches of the years;
      I fled Him, down the labyrinthine ways
      Of my own mind; and in the mist of tears
      I hid from Him, and under running laughter.
      Up vistaed hopes I sped;
      And shot, precipitated,
      Adown Titanic glooms of chasmèd fears,
      From those strong Feet that followed, followed after.
      But with unhurrying chase,
      And unperturbéd pace,
      Deliberate speed, majestic instancy,
      They beat—and a Voice beat
      More instant than the Feet—
      “All things betray thee, who betrayest Me.”

      • …only a fool for God.

        I have been that fool, more times than I can begin to confess.

        You know, Stan, your quote from this beautiful poem reminds me of another poem.

        139:6 Your knowledge is beyond my comprehension;
        it is so far beyond me, I am unable to fathom it.
        139:7 Where can I go to escape your spirit?
        Where can I flee to escape your presence?
        139:8 If I were to ascend to heaven, you would be there.
        If I were to sprawl out in Sheol, there you would be.
        139:9 If I were to fly away on the wings of the dawn,
        and settle down on the other side of the sea,
        139:10 even there your hand would guide me,
        your right hand would grab hold of me.
        139:11 If I were to say, “Certainly the darkness will cover me,
        and the light will turn to night all around me,”
        139:12 even the darkness is not too dark for you to see,
        and the night is as bright as day;
        darkness and light are the same to you.
        139:13 Certainly you made my mind and heart;
        you wove me together in my mother’s womb.
        139:14 I will give you thanks because your deeds are awesome and amazing. You knew me thoroughly;
        139:15 my bones were not hidden from you,
        when I was made in secret
        and sewed together in the depths of the earth.
        139:16 Your eyes saw me when I was inside the womb.
        All the days ordained for me
        were recorded in your scroll
        before one of them came into existence.
        139:17 How difficult it is for me to fathom your thoughts about me, O God!
        How vast is their sum total!
        139:18 If I tried to count them,
        they would outnumber the grains of sand.
        Even if I finished counting them,
        I would still have to contend with you.
        (Psalm 139:6-18)

        Therein is my confidence. When signs fail to appear, or I fail to discern them, He is there fulfilling His purpose for me. I love the image of verse 10, “…even there your hand would guide me, your right hand would grab hold of me.”

  5. It’s funny that I come across this article since I tend to ignore the signs until they hit me right in the face. Maybe this is a sign to pay more attention : )

  6. alaskachick says:

    I am a firm and loyal believer that what most folks perceive as coincidence is actually God’s wink.

    I’m glad I read this! Beautiful. Thank you Marcus for allowing Stan to share it with us that have not met you yet.

    ~Amber-Lee

    • Marcus Baker says:

      Hi Amber-Lee,

      “What most folks perceive as coincidence is actually God’s wink.”

      That is one hang of a quote! Love it!

      Thank you for sharing that Amber-Lee and for the welcoming feedback.

      ~Marcus

      • Stan Faryna says:

        This wink is for you, Amber-Lee. Via Elizabeth Barret Browning.

        If all the gentlest-hearted friends I know
        Concentred in one heart their gentleness,
        That still grew gentler till its pulse was less
        For life than pity,–I should yet be slow
        To bring my own heart nakedly below
        The palm of such a friend, that he should press
        Motive, condition, means, appliances,

        My false ideal joy and fickle woe,
        Out full to light and knowledge; I should fear
        Some plait between the brows, some rougher chime
        In the free voice. O angels, let your flood
        Of bitter scorn dash on me! do ye hear
        What I say who hear calmly all the time
        This everlasting face to face with GOD?

  7. Marcus Baker says:

    Hi Stan,

    “….king’s ransom of iridescent pearls.” Wow that is so beautiful. Stan. You do have a way with words. Thank you.

    Thank you too for asking me to share this post here.

    I am always moved when others “get” what I am on about. I know you do and I am also grateful to be able to share this with more eyes and hearts because of you.

    We write to express so that others may connect not only with us but with universal truths, of which we are often just one of many messengers.

    I love how you encourage your readers to take time to go beyond the written words. They are as you suggest intended as a starting point; a way in, to facilitate our own un-layering process.

    The music works perfectly!

    ~Marcus

    • Stan Faryna says:

      “We write to express so that others may connect not only with us but with universal truths, of which we are often just one of many messengers.”

      Well said, Marcus. And, thank you again for your kindness.

      It is urgent for us to turn our hearts to signs. Because winter is coming. Thus we serve others by reminding them to pay attention to signs. For words are cheap these days – just ask any SEO expert. The best of them command an army of copy writers for fiverrs!

      The number of comments may not seem rewarding, but you should know that we move the hearts of 10,000. Maybe more.

      The shortened days makes our work more urgent. Because winter is coming. And there remains much to do. Because the winter will come hard.

      The haves are counting their gold religiously – yellow, black, and red – as the months grow colder. The have-nots wait restlessly for signs. But not the signs that have been promised, forewarned, and even present themselves to us now. People yearn for signs of spring and summer. Just as winter is about to fall. Like a sword.

      Cold fires burning in our hearts will not keep us warm when winter comes. Not to mention that the Arab spring ran dry and our wells were not dug deeply. We will be thirsty when winter comes. An early winter also means that bread will not be cheap.

      These are exciting times. I’m glad to serve with you, Marcus.

      • …for words are cheap these days. Just ask any SEO expert.

        So, true.

        These are exciting times.

        I could not agree more. Let others drown in the sea of doubt or be tossed about by every wind. I believe with my whole heart, when the flood comes that so many are predicting,”if I keep my eyes on Jesus, I can walk on water.” (Audio Adrenaline)

        If you’ve never heard the song, you can listen here:

      • Marcus Baker says:

        Great song James. Exercising faith, so easy to do and so easy not to do.

      • Marcus Baker says:

        “The number of comments may not seem rewarding, but you should know that we move the hearts of 10,000. Maybe more.”

        Exciting times indeed. The larger part of what we do may appear unseen but nothing goes unnoticed.

  8. I totally believe in “signs,” and my life has been full of them. I’m not always alert to them at the time (sometimes I am), but looking back, I can always see that they were there. I think we’re we’re moving way too fast and multitasking way too much these days and. consequently, are missing a lot of those signs today.

    • Stan Faryna says:

      Yes.

    • Marcus Baker says:

      Hi Sandra,

      Most people are moving so fast through life that they are numbed to their heart’s calling to rise up and live the lives they were born to live.

      I agree with you, all multitasking does is erode our ability to focus, laying us bare to the lie that we are powerless.

      ~Marcus

  9. Yogizilla says:

    I agree, Stan!

    Signs are often negative and blessings can be found within our worst moments. This is how we are really tested. After all, when everything is great, few have real motivation to push forward.

    Signs are all around us every day.

  10. I’m in “sign” too. though I missed some in the past. there is one which always astonish me: the radio that speaks to you. A song or a comment wich hit me: appropriate and responding. That’s why I love so much the radio.

    • Marcus Baker says:

      Hi Fabrizio,

      Expect signs anywhere, everywhere, any time…

      We will always be met on the road wherever we are.

      ~Marcus

  11. I think there are always signs happening around us but sometimes we don’t take the time to be aware of them; we are waiting for them to knock us upside the head. It seems in hindsight is when we get clarity at times.

    Very interesting article indeed and I will certainly share.

    • Marcus Baker says:

      Hi Bill,

      The problem is that by the time they ‘knock us upside the head’ we have created much unnecessary self suffering and then again maybe it’s only with suffering that some will awaken.

      ~Marcus

  12. alaskachick says:

    Audio Adenaline… beautiful, gotta have it, gonna get it.

    Stan. Marcus and @StJohnMarketing .
    The signs. The storm. The winter.

    Someone said to me once her signs/messages/directions/guidance came as a feather tickle, making her aware to pay attention. I had to interject politely, “Ma’am, I am a believer in One God, I fully respect and understand other beliefs and I still believe He is all the One and same God. However, my God doesn’t use a feather (with me, by any means) my God throws bricks at me.”

    I have had many shifts in my direction and yet I see and believe I have always been heading in the right direction, I only just recently in my life started pulling the curtains back and letting the Light in. I listen and I am waiting. Waiting and listening.

    I will not despair. I will never again fall into that back monster pit called despair. I do believe and I will not loose my faith or forget it again. Even as the snow is literally pouring down outside my window as I write this, marking the end of any chance that our new house will be worked on, so the end of any chance that I will move my children into a home much healthier and certainly happier for all of us… until next summer.

    The blessings have rained down on us. I see them everyday. Coincidence? No. I have goals and dreams, I have desire and honor. I will try with my whole heart for patience and when I am too weak, I have Him to hold me and I have some very special friends to remind me. Coincidence? No.

    The winter is coming and with it, the dark. I am not afraid. For the first time in longer than I can remember, maybe ever, I am not afraid.
    ~Amber-Lee

    • Marcus Baker says:

      Yeah have to admit I am used to the bricks too. Ouch…

      ‘I do believe and I will not loose my faith or forget it again.’

      …and that’s why you are not afraid.

      When we are in alignment with our God there is no despair, only hope regardless of what may be coming our way. Everything happens in perfect timing – “Thy Will be Done”

      I love your spirit Amber-Lee.

  13. bonnie67 says:

    Hi Stan and Marcus.

    This was a wonderful post. I do believe in signs.

    This may seem odd but I knew who Steve Jobs was but for some reason I went searching about his life and family. I found out he has kids that are the ages
    of ours.

    Than a friend of mine wrote a blog about her friend who didn’t take risks but that one day he did and lost his life.

    Also close to about a year ago, the father of the girl our son took to the
    prom, passed away. She was 17 at the time of his death. She just now starting to talk with our kids again.

    The odd thing is all these things about death has come at a time in my life where the month of October is a sad month for me. Because my mom passed away this month on October 10th many years ago. I still miss her. Also on the 20th, we lost our first grand child. Even though our grand child was lost in pregnancy, it was a life. That dear unborn child was a part of our family.

    But the biggest sign I got was about our son. He came running down stairs and said, mom this is creepy. I asked him what was wrong with him. He mentioned the picture that I posted of him clowning around putting balloons or basket balls in his shirt. So what about it, I asked. Well he had me log back into FB and he showed me in one of the picturess that it looks like an angel flying to a baby which is on the other side and these are both behind our son.

    Seeing that made me feel at peace. I feel like it was a way that God and my mom was telling me that our grand child was ok – an angel in heaven.

    All of this has made me realize how important family is to me. But also to God.

    • Marcus Baker says:

      Hi Bonnie,

      My thinking is that a series of signs can be more significant than a lone sign; not because the lone sign is any less important but because the series had to exist for us to notice.

      Signs that help us to realize what’s important in our lives like family and God are always special. They should not be missed or else they will become signs reminding us of our neglect.

      Thank you for sharing your story.

      ~Marcus

  14. Stan Faryna says:

    A man was once speaking about the kingdom of heaven; he told a story that reveals much to us about the purpose of heaven’s signs as generous invitations to a magnificent celebration. Signs may be compared to the invitations to a king’s wedding party.

    Strangely enough, the people on the guest list neither cared for the splendors of the wedding party or, worse, they took great offense and insult by the invitation. Some even seized and killed the messengers who brought the invitations. It is a shocking story to be sure.

    The text goes like this:

    The kingdom of heaven may be compared to a king who gave a marriage feast for his son, and sent his servants to call those who were invited to the marriage feast; but they would not come.

    Again he sent other servants, saying, `Tell those who are invited, Behold, I have made ready my dinner, my oxen and my fat calves are killed, and everything is ready; come to the marriage feast.’

    But they made light of it and went off, one to his farm, another to his business, while the rest seized his servants, treated them shamefully, and killed them.

    The king was angry, and he sent his troops and destroyed those murderers and burned their city.

    Then he said to his servants, `The wedding is ready, but those invited were not worthy.

    Go therefore to the thoroughfares, and invite to the marriage feast as many as you find.’

    And those servants went out into the streets and gathered all whom they found, both bad and good; so the wedding hall was filled with guests.

    Matthew 22:2-10

  15. KW says:

    The day I quit my job as a financial planner, my TV broke. At the time, it seemed like just one more irritating thing that could happen, but I realized that the advice I would have given to one of my financial planning clients would be: you’re now unemployed, cut the cable. So I took the TV to the recycling center, turned off the cable, and discovered what a creativity killer the TV had been. Without it, I was bored, and I had to DO something with my time – I ended up returning to writing. I had a novel finished in six months and am now working on the sequel. Was it a sign? A prod from the universe? I don’t know. But the death of my TV changed things for me in a very good way.

    Kirsten Weiss

    • Marcus Baker says:

      Hi Kirsten,

      Sign or no sign the the day your TV died was momentous to be sure.

      Television comes like a thief disguised as pleasure but it’s only when we see the fruits of not having this intruder in our lives that we realize by how much we were being robbed.

      Congratulations on the novel and sequel success.

      ~Marcus

  16. rbskeys says:

    Hi Stan and Marcus,

    I am learning to listen more and act less from a place of needing to act, or having to act.

    I observe signs more. This feels uncomfortable at times, because I am used to ignoring the signs, or acknowledging the signs and say, “Nah, too busy for that, gotta do something else until *the time is right*”.

    Of course God continues hitting me over the head with the signs. So I usually surrender and act on signs that are oh so divine. Ya know, the signs that speak to us louder than any spoken words. The signs we know we must follow, if we are to feel fulfilled.

    I followed a few signs recently. Published my first ebook of inspirational quotes. Working on my second book of expanded thoughts. I acted, and am letting go limited states of mind and activities which aren’t in congruence with who I really am.

    Thanks for sharing the wonderful insight with us guys!

    Ryan

    • Marcus Baker says:

      Hey Ryan,

      “Nah, too busy for that, gotta do something else until *the time is right*”. – I could have written that line as mine too!

      Nothing more painful than not surrendering and nothing sweeter when we do.

      Awesome to read how following the signs is leading you more fully down your path Ryan. Thank you for sharing here. Much appreciated.

      ~Marcus

  17. Is life full of signs? sure there is. As Steve Jobs said in his Stanford speech, life is about connecting the dots. The difference between a person who makes lemonade out of lemons, and someone who does not is having the right mindset. We all come across challenges in life that seems at the time to be a disaster, but it takes an open mind, a positive attitude and believing that “you” are in control of what happens to you, that helps you read the signs and take action. I recommend reading the book entitled “mindset, how we can learn to fulfill our potential” by Carol Dweeck. It was quite eye opening for me.
    Cheers,
    Sherry

  18. Marcus Baker says:

    Hi Sherry,

    The signs point the way if we will just wake up and follow the guidance we so often ask for and then believe we have not received.

    I have not heard of the Carol Dweeck book. Thanks for bringing it to our attention.

    ~Marcus

  19. Wow! I can see why you felt it was important to share this post, Stan! I really appreciate the distinction you made between signs and annunciations in your foreword and the clarification that: “Signs are for those of us who cannot bear to see and hear the truth.”

    Marcus, what an absolutely amazing anecdote! It seems almost mystical that your tech guy said your code was possessed. I can’t think of a specific incident with such a powerful sign, but then again, maybe, like Stan says, I just haven’t been willing to see it.

    I really do believe in the power of signs though. For me, they are often more subtle. For example, the move here to Peru was a huge decision for me and the little things that fell into place encouraged me to continue with my plan (e.g., I got a good price for the ticket down and I found a job to maintain me just when my savings were about to run out). Sometimes, I wonder if the lack of signs can be a sign in and of itself. Thoughts? =)

    • Marcus Baker says:

      Hi Sam,

      So appreciate you coming over here to Stan’s blog and leaving a comment! Thank you.

      Love this line too – “Signs are for those of us who cannot bear to see and hear the truth.” Truth sets us free and yet we fear it so.

      I have to say I appreciate a series of signs as you experienced with your move Sam. Maybe it helps me to be sure that I am not seeing a sign that isn’t there?

      A very good friend of mine asks for signs and always asks for three. She usually gets what she asks for so maybe we should be more deliberate in our ordering of signs too?

      I believe that a lack of signs is definitely a sign in and of itself. I have experienced many such times in my life when my understanding was that I should simply “be” without expectation and as usual nothing stays the same forever.

      ~Marcus

      • Ooh! I hadn’t that about that, Marcus. I had never tried to put out a deliberate call to the universe and to more deliberately look for the signs as well. =) I’ll definitely try that because it encourages me to be more aware of myself and my surroundings, something that I have always aimed to be.

        Thanks for the idea, friend! =)

  20. Marcus, aloha. What a delight to see this post over at Stan’s place. His Social Media Dohs series is such an interesting one.

    Yes, I absolutely do believe in signs. There is no doubt in my mind that the universe, via your blog, was letting you know that you were not moving in the best direction for you. Once you changed your focus, the universe said “YES! Marcus, hurray. You finally ‘got it.’ Follow your bliss.”

    While those may not have been the exact words, Marcus, I believe they are pretty close.

    When something is not in my best interests, I do have things happen. It may be simple like the car won’t start so I come into the house and then receive an important phone call I otherwise would have missed.

    Happily, I can say that most of the time I am philosophical about it and say this must be happening because something good is on its way to me. Rather than fret and stew about the delay or change, I relax into the flow.

    That being said, Marcus, I have had my times where like you, I was stubborn and ignored the message because the logic and the “shoulds” were so persuasive.

    Also, our exchange yesterday/this morning was a “sign” to me that you are going in the right direction with your e-book. Here you decided you wanted to do one, didn’t know the mechanics of how to do it, released it to the universe, I received the message and delivered it to you. To me, Marcus, that is a sign.

    Enjoy your visit at Stan’s place where you will meet and connect with some amazing folks.

    Wishing you a fantastic week. Aloha. Janet

    • Marcus Baker says:

      Janet aloha. Always love reading your comments. Thank you for coming by and sharing your sharp insights as always Janet.

      I agree totally with you re the sign to do with my blog. Once I ‘obeyed’ all the pushing and shoving from me stopped and I could see clearly and easily.

      “this must be happening because something good is on its way to me” – This is the only way to be Janet.

      We don’t always have to know why something is happening at the time, we just need to accept that it is for our highest good.

      Re the E-book information – a perfect example. I am still always so astounded at how things come to us when we give up wanting to know how they will come. Faith certainly can move mountains!

      Thank you Janet and see you in the blogosphere….

      ~Marcus

  21. Marcus, so glad to see you here at Stan’s place. His blog is a very special one that delivers experiences instead of articles. How wonderful that you have kept with Stan’s tradition.

    My 15 year old daughter and I were just talking about this last week. She shared with me that she had been noticing signs in her life and we shared eerie examples of the times that we saw signs and they guided us.

    She wondered if other people had signs like ours and she said she didn’t think so. We concluded that others had signs but didn’t pay attention to them.

    We also concluded that signs were God’s way of guiding us. When you realize that, you can calm down about the many stresses of life. Janet’s example of the car not starting, Bonnie’s example of the picture on Facebook and KW’s example of the TV breaking show that you should take joy and comfort in signs instead of stressing about the change in plans.

    Thank you, Stan and Marcus, for another amazing experience!

    • Marcus Baker says:

      Hi Carolyn,

      You are right Stan’s blog is an experience and I was most honoured he asked me over to share one of my own experiences.

      I think your daughter is right. We all have signs come our way but if we don’t recognise them as such then they don’t mean much.

      I definitely regard all signs as God speaking to me. When I ignore them I tend to get lost and when I do follow them, surprise surprise, everything always works our just fine.

      Thanks for adding to the conversation Carolyn.

      ~Marcus

  22. Good day, Stan and Marcus,

    I really enjoyed this read, my friends. Thank you for sharing it with me, Stan. I feel like my life has been a episode after episode of signs pointing me in the direction that I’m actually finally headed in today. It’s been a very incredible journey that actually took shape for me over the last two years.

    We all have stuff that has happen in our lives, and I’m sure many of us have thought at some point that our experiences were worse than other’s. The truth of the matter is that they were our experiences meant for us to go through. No better, and certainly no worse. Yet, experiences just the same. Experiences, that I think that we are meant to share with other’s so that we can learn from one another.

    What often happens is that the experience happens and for whatever reason some people go into panic mode; desiring to abandon the situation altogether. We run from pain like it’s the boogeyman and we are 3-year-old’s hiding under the covers in the midnight hours. The thing we fail to realize a lot of times is that the signs are there and the pain, although hurtful, is very necessary in our personal growth.

    Usually for me, the signs happen in three stages, and I’ve come to the point in my life where I have given those stages names… I may even write a post on it. The 3 stages for me are the introduction of the sign, the coincidence of the sign, and the confirmation. Most of the time, it should have been clear as day with the introduction, but for whatever reason I missed it or overlooked it. But by the time it reaches confirmation I know that it was meant for me to take action, right then. I have also taken action in the coincidence phase, but it’s not as likely for me to do so. I think I need the confirmation. Just to be sure.

    This was really an enlightenment to read, fellas. And I thank you Stan for bringing it to my attention. All the best to you both.

    • Stan Faryna says:

      Wow, Deeone. Wow. Things are going on there with you. I have no doubt about that.

    • Marcus Baker says:

      Hey Deeone,

      You raise an important point: signs don’t always have to be pleasant but they are always necessary as they point us in the direction we have to go to learn what we must

      As for the three stages, sounds as if there is definitely a post to be written there.

      Awesome to read you insights and take on this Deeone. Thank you for taking the time to comment.

      ~Marcus

  23. best wordpress seo plugin 2011…

    […]Do you ignore the road signs too? And other social media DOHs. « The unofficial blog of Stan Faryna[…]…

  24. […] Amber-Lee Dibble, Carolyn Nicander Mohr, Bill Dorman, Aaron Biebert, Eugene Farber, Yomar Lopez, Marcus Baker, Dino Dogan, Janet Callaway, Saul Fleischman, John Garrett, Tim Celan, Margorie Clayman, Phaedrah […]

Speak from your heart!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 172 other followers

