Blog Soup 2011.11.06. Entrepreneurship, Start Ups, and Babes

November 6, 2011

Blog Soup

by Stan Faryna

Stan Faryna

Blog Soup 2011.11.06. Entrepreneurship, Start Ups, and Babes

I miss brunches. One of the many reasons that I was bummed out today because people don’t brunch in Bucharest. It’s expensive. $50 at a fine hotel. Because the restaurants don’t do brunch. It’s not a part of the culture. Sundays, generally speaking, are for hangovers.

I shouldn’t mention that any business man (or women) in Bucharest knows that $50 can buy them an hour with a beautiful young woman (or man). For chatting, petting, or whatever.

Sadly, Sunday is passing…

Yo – Triberr is on full manual. [grin] You’ll need to approve each tweet from your tribe members – if you want them to keep loving on you. I’ll be repeating this message for a few more blog soups for the obvious reasons.

I read a lot of blogs. Maybe, too many. I comment on a lot of blog posts. Maybe, too many. If you are a Triberrati, you do too.

A Triberrati is a blogger that stands out in the Triberr community. Triberr is a web app that connects bloggers and helps them to curate each other on Twitter. You can learn all about Triberr by reading any of the following posts about it.

1. James St. JohnTriberr: They Want To Change The World

2. Yomar LopezHow Triberr Changes The Competitive Landscape

3. Neicole CrepeauFriday Fives: Tips For Using Triberr

Gary Portnoy, Where everybody knows your name (Cheers theme song)

2011.11.06

Today, I was reading from the Book of Wisdom.

Wisdom is radiant and unfading, and she is easily discerned by those who love her, and is found by those who seek her. She hastens to make herself known to those who desire her. He who rises early to seek her will have no difficulty, for he will find her sitting at his gates. To fix one’s thought on her is perfect understanding, and he who is vigilant on her account will soon be free from care, because she goes about seeking those worthy of her, and she graciously appears to them in their paths, and meets them in every thought.

And then from Matthew where Christ replies to the unprepared maidens knocking on his door at the last hour:

Truly, I say to you, I do not know you. Matthew 25:12

Anyway…

Making blog soup sometimes reminds me of Misery Bear preparing for his date. Do you know Misery Bear?

Featured

Just some of the blogs that I recently commented on:

1. Debunking Rock Star Entrepreneurship by Lee Downen

2. The Blog That Never Was by Jack Steiner

3. She’s Back by Betsy Cross

4. Is Your Business Prepared for Prime Time? by Marti Barletta

5. How Brands Can Effectively Connect With Female Bloggers by Stephanie Holland

6. Top 25 Young Entrepreneur Success Stories by Nicholas Tart

7. Winter for Alaska Chick! by Amber-Lee Dibble

Dires Straits, Money For Nothing

Blog Soup

1. Debunking Rock Star Entrepreneurship by Lee Downen

Young Lee Downen wants to share what he’s learning about the meaning of entrepreneurship. Recently, Master Downen read The Illusions of Entrepreneurship by professor Shane Scott of Case Western Reserve. He also notes being inspired by Tim Ferriss.

My comment:

Personally, I like the rock star archetype of the entrepreneur, Lee. Forgive me for contradicting you. But I believe the contradiction will provide you with a balance of information which will better help you discern your our path forward.

Behind the curtain of glamor, fans, cash, and attitude, rockstars work harder than most people. They eat pain, terror, and self defeat for breakfast. Every day. And when they don’t, they turn to drugs to keep it on. Because what they do is often the impossible, the unthinkable, and the unbearable.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m not advocating self-medication. [grin] I just want to speak with you about the difficulties, risks, and free falls, that every entrepreneur must face.

My friend Adrian Klein writes how he turns trouble into awesome:

Pain makes us understand who we are and what we are doing. Pain makes the vision clearer. Pain drives the work and the art.

You can read more about what it’s like to be a rockstar via the links below.

Grandma’s Smile by Adrian Klein

The Easter Bunny Kicked My Ass by Adrian Klein

How To Become a Rockstar by Adrian Klein

I’ll add that 99.98 percent fail to do something worthwhile- not 95 percent. But that 4.98 percent disparity refers to those who lost their hearts, shirts, who starved, who cried, and/or also devastated the wealth or savings of friends, family, and investors.

That’s not saying I don’t wish you success, Lee. In fact, I wish you everything good that your heart desires!

2. The Blog That Never Was by Jack Steiner

Writes Jack:

This is the story of the blog that never was. It is the true story of how three friends in the midst of a bad economy developed a plan to take control of their destiny by creating a dad blog.

My comment:

I’m reminded of my comment to Yomar Lopez’s comment about never finding the perfect business partner. Yomar was commenting on Laurinda Shaver’s blog post about writing a business plan.

I wrote:

There is no such thing as a perfect business partner. Because the perfect business partner is the business partner that doesn’t need you. Now let’s do some amazing things. All of us. Together.

My two cents is to get more daddy bloggers into the mix – with an eye on people who are already blogging. When you buddies are free from the divorce headaches and hangover, they can join in on the fun.

Heck, if you want a failing daddy in the mix, I’d be happy to oblige. [grin] And Yomar is also a daddy and grand daddy blogger too.

Two more cents of free advice for you and Lee Downen: Entrepreneurship is all about solving problems and moving forward. It’s when you slow down, stop, and scratch your head, it’s game over. Been there. Done that. More than a few times.

3. She’s Back by Betsy Cross

Writes Betsy:

Madeleine, cutting up paper and gluing right across from me said, “I liked when we had no power (the recent 3-day storm). You didn’t do family history.” That hurt!

“Want to know my favorite part of the 3 days we were without power?” I asked Madeleine. “When we cuddled in the chair under piles of blankets.” She smiled. She just wanted to know that I loved being with her.

My comment:

Betsy also writes:

Finding and maintaining passion are two different animals.

Obviously, I’ve been reading a lot of blog posts about business, entrepreneurship, start ups, and dreams, and I have to say that Betsy has defined the problem for most aspiring entrepreneurs and dreamers that can’t make it go. Daydreams are one thing. Finding passion is another. And making it go is something else entirely. As Janet Callway’s blog post about Dr. Seuss’ last book reminded me a few days ago, there’s a place called waiting and a lot of people get stuck there and, oh, with no other place to go.

Of course, Leon Noone has something to say about this:

Profit is a consequence, not an objective.

Writes the guru’s guru of management consulting Tom Peters:

Marathoners call it “hitting the wall.” You get to a point where you can’t go on. But you do. And, miraculously, you come out the other side and finish the race.

Truth is, damn little of merit, in a profession or a hobby, is accomplished without running through a wall or two.

More here.

4. Is Your Business Prepared for Prime Time? by Marti Barletta

Businesses that want to thrive in the decades to come are going to have to adapt to meet the needs of Boomers.

That’s what Marti Barletta is saying.

My comment:

Marti Barletta knows things. She doesn’t just blog about things. She’s a recognized authority on communications, marketing, sales, and recruitment. If you don’t come away with big take aways from reading her blog posts, the problem is you. Not her! [grin]

As the online audience ages, their interests are changing. They’ll be thinking more about family, friends, holidays, and of things past. Perhaps, family history too. It seems to me, Betsy, that this is your moment to work on how to capture that very large, online market.

5. How Brands Can Effectively Connect With Female Bloggers by Stephanie Holland

Writes Stephanie Holland:

Bottom line, connecting with female bloggers is much like connecting with your female audience. You need to not only know who they are, you need to understand and respect them.

My comment:

The beginning of that understanding begins in understanding what my friend Betsy writes in her blog post about sisters:

The world wouldn’t be the same without women, and neither would I. When we began this adventure called womanhood, we had no idea of the incredible joys or sorrows that lay ahead. Nor did we know how much we would need each other. Every day, we need each other still.

6. Top 25 Young Entrepreneur Success Stories by Nicholas Tart

Nick shares the stories of 25 young entrepreneurs. Here’s three:

12 year old Adora Svitak

15 year old Savannah Brit

18 year old Stanley Tang

My comment:

Out of the mouths of babes…

Check out Adora Svitak’s TED Talk: What Adults can learn from kids here.

You’ll be impressed. Then you’ll feel stupid - if you are not a kid. I did. [laughing]

If these kids can do amazing things, why can’t you? Because you are special in that unfortunate kind of way?

Don’t be RIDICULOUS! You are not special in that unfortunate kind of way.

Of course, nothing is easy. Just as my friend Amber-Lee writes in a recent blog post:

It has taken me so long to come to understand what seems like I should have always known. It has taken an incredible amount of hard work and lots of pain and drama to become who I am.

Just because nothing is easy doesn’t mean that the difficult is impossible.

7. Winter for Alaska Chick! by Amber-Lee Dibble

Writes Amber-Lee:

The weight of the snow can cause some real problems, the least of which is the crust of ice that forms on the wings and takes HOURS to remove.

My comment:

I read your words a second time:

The weight of the snow can cause some real problems, the least of which is the crust of ice that forms on the wings and takes HOURS to remove.

And two things were stuck in my head in the reading your words. How this winter will be hard on business in general and, especially, entrepreneurs. Ice on the wings. Ice on the runways. AND how this winter may be hard on bloggers. Again, ice on the wings. The image of ice on the wings came to me again as you mentioned that Twitter has cooled down on the conversations.

I hope that I’m wrong. Bill Dorman said it best in his blog post about 10000: “People need to bump around, meet some people, and well, be social.”

Entrepreneurs, bloggers, and just about anyone for that matter.


Just as you yearn for snow fall, I too yearn for snow fall in Bucharest. Snowfall brings a certain peace to a place. People slow down. Crime decreases. People become more like people – if you know what I mean.

There is need for rest and more time for the ones written in our hearts. And I yearn for snowfall to bring these blessings sooner than later. Maybe Bill Dorman will even get a few thousand more Twitter followers closer to his 10,000 target.

Note to Bill:

Your content is Grade A. Stop sweating it, buddy. Reach (aka distribution) is the challenge that you need to overcome. And everyone else too. Even our buddy, Jack Steiner, faces the same uphill battle. But once he gets his 100k subscibers, we’ll know he’s in good hands.

Amber-Lee, I know you haven’t been feeling well the last week or so, but I’ve missed you. And your comments – especially since you were gone most of August and September guiding hunters to take down big game like Moose and Dall Sheep.

I so look forward to your forthcoming reflections, inspirations, and heart-warming charms.

Feedback

If you think that this blog post sucks, let me know in your comment and don’t forget to include a link to YOUR favorite blog post.

If you think this blog post rocks, tell me why it rocks in the comment. “Awesome,””Great post,” etc. works for me. Don’t forget to include a link to YOUR most recent blog post.

Stan Faryna
06 November 2011
Bucharest, Romania

P.S. Help me to do something beautiful! Click here.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 171 other followers