Social Savvy: How Social Media Is Changing the World For The Better

How Social Media Is Changing the World For The Better

by Stan Faryna

Stan Faryna

Beyond the marketing and personal branding opportunity of social media, social media is epic when it connects us, brings people together in compassion and dignity, and when it reunites us with the human family.

The most recent example is a Facebook campaign launched by Pushpin Mehina.

Michael Jackson, They Don’t Care About Us

Writes Ronny of Pushpin Media:

To the Iranian people

To all the fathers, mothers, children, brothers and sisters. For there to be a war between us, first we must be afraid of each other, we must hate. I’m not afraid of you, I don’t hate you. I don’t even know you. No Iranian ever did me no harm. I never even met an Iranian… Just one in Paris in a museum. Nice dude… I see sometime here, on the TV, an Iranian. He is talking about war. I’m sure he does not represent all the people of Iran… If you see someone on your TV talking about bombing you… be sure he does not represent all of us. To all those who feel the same, share this message and help it reach the Iranian people.

An Iranian woman replies:

Hi Pushpin, I am an Iranian lady. I just saw your warm and beautiful message to my country mates. Reading your message brought tears to my eyes and warmness to my heart. Just wanted to ensure you, we all Iranians feel the same, we just want peace and beauty on the earth, we hate war and slaughter, we all are the parts of one body and it hurts when you see a human suffering since she or he is a part of your soul. I have been always curious about you guys if you hate us, because I have been sure that the actual face of Iranians would not be introduced to you guys… All in all, just would like to thank you for your beautiful message and say that we all love you because you are our brothers and sisters. The only thing that matters is your beautiful heart not your culture, language, skin color, religion or homeland.

At a moment when I feel completely obsolete as myself, it lifts my heart to see others walk in beauty.

Thanks to Fred Petrossian and Global Voices for sharing this inspiring story with us. You can read it here:

http://globalvoicesonline.org/2012/03/18/a-love-letter-from-israel-to-iran

Stan Faryna
26 March 2012
Bucharest, Romania

Feedback

If you think that this blog post sucks, let me know in your comment and don’t forget to include a link to YOUR favorite blog post.

If you think this blog post rocks, tell me why it rocks in the comment. “Awesome,””Great post,” etc. works for me. Don’t forget to include a link to YOUR most recent blog post.

Subscribe to this blog if you would enjoy keeping up with my thoughts and commentary. Like it, rate it and share it – if you want to give me some love. Oh yeah – if you have pinsanity, feel free to follow me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/faryna

6 Responses to Social Savvy: How Social Media Is Changing the World For The Better

  1. Wow, interesting indeed and so true.

    • Stan Faryna says:

      The great war that begins with Iran has been postponed about five or six years now. At some point, the movers and shakers may just have to shrug and get over it. Social media may make this possible. [grin]

  2. You’re so right, Stan. There’s always an upside and a downside to everything and i love seeing social media being used for purposes such as this. I’ve always loved the old poster that reads: “Suppose they gave a war and nobody came!” Thanks for sharing with us!

  3. And in the end… the love you make is equal to the love you take… Could still be if we don’t le them have that war.
    Read that the baby boomers are not too pleased with the results of the changes they introduces back in the day… Seems if they get mad enough again they may decide to do something about it… again. Count me in. Billy

  4. alaskachick says:

    Stan!
    Thank you for sharing this with us all. I had tears in my eyes as well. How beautiful, how true. There is just nothing more to say. This speaks for itself and I only want to say THANK YOU.

Speak from your heart!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 170 other followers

