How do you write a blog post that will capture 1 Million readers today?

How to write a blog post that will capture the attention of one million readers

by Stan Faryna

Stan Faryna

ATB, The Chosen Ones

How do you write a blog post that will capture 1 Million readers today? That’s the question that you and I have to ask ourselves – if we ever hope to be the kind of super blogger that gets opportunities to greater fame and fortune.

Even if your (or my) chances are one in twenty million.

Obvious to me, the emphasis of the answer can’t be about writing blog posts that are emphatically interesting just to you. Or me. Whatever you would write about has to speak strongly to others, their problems, their joys, and, yes, their hopes.

Or am I mistaken?

But the greater challenge may not be what you write about or how well you write it. The greater challenge may be that not enough people know that you’ve written a blog post that they gotta read. Double emphasis on the gotta read as if their happiness depended on it!

Without you, their day or week has to suck, somehow. Be lesser thereby. Even if just a little. But they got to know that! Deep down. Even if it is a lie.

Their friends, family and peers have to reinforce that fiction – just one more, little fiction that helps us all get through our day. Get to the weekend. Get through the uninspired lives we live.

And how do people figure out that they need you like they need air? How do their friends, family and peers figure that out and reinforce the fiction? They have to see your name being shouted from the roof tops.

Your name and blog has to come up whenever they search for information about the things they need to know about. And, of course, then, they have to decide that what your writing is something they need. Like air!

This is the train wreck of thoughts that tumbled and groaned like twisting steel as I read Jack Steiner’s blog post, You are the biggest liar in social media.

I don’t know how Jack will feel about this. Will he consider it a complement? In fact, the complement was intended.

But the important thing to remember is that this mention and link will help Jack gain another inch. He just needs 9,999 more people talking about his latest blog post and linking to it, every month, for the momentum to build.

Jack knows that and he’s working toward that level of Epic. More importantly, Jack is having fun in the meantime. As is Bill Dorman, J.M. BellBilly Delaney and Bruce Sallan- I trust. Even if it is a Monday.

Whatever you do to write a great blog post, uplift others. No less than one other. Because beauty begins there.

And beauty, oh yeah, we all need it. Just like we need air.

Stan Faryna
24 September 2012
Bucharest, Romania

13 Responses to How do you write a blog post that will capture 1 Million readers today?

  1. I never want a million readers. Can you imagine the time to reply to all those comments!!! Oh, my. I felt like I had a million readers on my birthday; I was caught up in thanks for a few days just reconnecting and saying hey.

    A million readers? How about 500? Those guys who have 4,000 subscribers? OMGosh. Guess what? They’re not running their blog any more; it’s all about robotic automation.

    I never want a million readers because then I lose touch with my community and can’t send kissies when someone new comes to comment.

    Because I know when someone new comments on my blog or tweets at me.

    • Stan Faryna says:

      I’ve noticed that those who have that kind of readership don’t even try to reply to comments. The comments become a conversation of fans with other fans.

      As far as comments go, I’m very ok with the small number that I get. But sometimes I do wonder what those other 29,997 people are thinking. [grin]

  2. billdorman says:

    I will take a half a million readers at fifty cents apiece. As you can see I am still humble and gracious……

    Good question; would a million readers change me? Would I piss people off because it looked like I changed, but had to only to meet the demands of my throng (not thong)?

    I’ve seen people change in here but all they were doing was following their business model. I thought some of it was contrived and manipulative, but they never wavered from their mission. Is that good or bad? Not for me to decide……

    I’m ok working in the smaller tribes and growing something substantial from there; how about you?

    • Stan Faryna says:

      Growth, relevance and increasing reach are always on my mind. But it’s not as important to me as what’s for dinner OR who I have served today – hopefully not just me. Hopefully…

      I’ve doubled traffic/readers in the last two or three months, but that is not a milestone on my roadmap to the “throng”. I’m way below the 100k/month mark and I don’t know if that means I suck as much as it means that social media just doesn’t work as advertised. Prolly, both are true. [grin] Perhaps, equally.

      Like Jack suggests, we just gotta keep pushing. Something has to give. And, hopefully, it is not me that gets broken along the way.

      One thing I do know is that there’s no way I could ever keep up with 100 comments per week. I can’t just push the words out there fast enough and, yes, I do envy and celebrate those that can.

      Another thing I know is that 50 cents a piece for a loyal reader or “user” would be a steal. I frequently see online marketing efforts that come out to $100 per targeted user until the tipping point is hit.

  3. TheJackB says:

    I want to hit a million for the same reason I want to climb Mt. Everest, because it is there and because it is one hell of a goal. Got to aim high to hit that next level.

    But if I hit the mark I would try to be like Bill and be the same guy.

    Still Jayme is right, it is crazy and overwhelming number but I like the kind of problems/challenges it presents.

    This world is about growth,learning, fun and experience. I think all are happening for me, what about you.

    Thank you for the link, always appreciated.

  4. I believe in blogging-as-uplifting, otherwise I wouldn’t keep at it. If I didn’t believe I could make somebody’s day better, somehow, in my own small way, I would simply change course and do something else.

    And yes, I blog because it’s fun.

  5. Hajra says:

    I find blogging fun. Sometimes I find the time to do it, but mostly I might get out of schedule. So if I get a million readers and comments… I would probably have to hire someone to reply to those comments.

    The fact that a million people are enjoying my post will be reward enough. And a few hate emails won’t be so painful to read…

    A little overwhelming but maybe it would be a good learning experience to get to that point in blogging.

  6. I think you get a million readers by solving a problem someone is having. I don’t have a million readers, yet. At least, I don’t think that I do. Perhaps someday I will, though it’s hard to imagine that happening.

    But where do you go from there? Will you miss them when they’re gone?

    I’d prefer to have a handful of dedicated readers who let me know when I make a difference.

    • Stan Faryna says:

      Your wisdom ever stands planted with two feet on the ground – practical and wise. As always. I love that about you, Carolyn.

  7. Betsy Cross says:

    I had to think about this for a while…

    I can only comment about why I was writing and why I stopped.
    I started writing in order to influence people to action. When I failed, I stopped, stepped back, and reassessed how to measure people’s actions/reactions to my writing.

    Comments and thoughts aren’t actions. They’re fun and uplifting, but in the long run they weren’t going to fuel me to to stay the course.

    If only one person out of a million readers took action and started their research on their family history, that would have been a success for me and reason enough to continue. Until I know how to communicate with “the one” like I do IRL (actually, I know HOW to do that, I’m just not committed to it right now), I don’t really care how many readers I have.

Speak from your heart!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 170 other followers

