What decides the fate of a nation? And other social media DOHS!

What decides the fate of a nation?

And other social media DOHs.

by Stan Faryna

Stan Faryna

Enigma, Return to Innocence

Is the fate of a nation to be decided by an election?

Or is the election of a President (or Government) the poorest and most useless exercise of human will, noble ambition, and highest hope?

I don’t know…

Maybe, you know. Maybe, you can explain it and make me a believer in what now seems to me to be… but the greatest of mouse traps – a mouse trap for nothing less than the Abolition of Man.

My apprehensions at this moment are reflected by the same indecision, division, and doubt which prevents commentators to preclude a victor. History, tonight, is a mystery to us.

God, however, makes no mistakes.

The Divine decides the fate of a nation (no amount of campaign spend shall contradict the Divine authority) and God’s will is spoken through the human heart – tonight, we know these signs include our own fears and worry.

I am moved to prayer – not to the election booth. I am moved to repent and, more importantly, to an examination of conscience. My own and for a nation that searches it’s heart for the sign of Jonah.

Meanwhile, I will reflect on The Final Speech of the Great Dictator. I invite you to join me too.

http://stanfaryna.wordpress.com/2011/10/04/the-final-speech-of-the-great-dictator-by-sir-charles-chaplin

Stan Faryna
06 November 2012
Bucharest, Romania

Post Election Notes

One hour before any decision had been made (nevermind that the Masons’ and other powerful interest groups had decided the fun was done and a moral crisis for a nation had to be averted), the media machine couched President Obama’s win and Romney’s concession in legalese, tentative triumphs, and false links to unmade concessions and unspoken victory announcements.

President Obama came to the podium to give the most lackluster victory speech of his career – perhaps, the burden of moral defeat and his own failure’s in the first four years spoke loudly in his soul. You could see that it weighed heavy upon the President’s heart – reminiscent of Jonah in the belly of the great fish. The man was made a prisoner – he was not crowned as heroes are crowned.

Strangely enough, Romney embraced his concession of the Presidential election with cheerfulness and apparent good sportsmanship – the man had accepted God’s will and he got out of the way of history with an uncanny light-heartedness and efficiency. Some might say that Romney is the better dog: he sits, begs, rolls over and plays dead without delay. He wags his tail too.

There was no victory for either man. Nor for America. Nor Democracy and Freedom. Nor for Hope. Winter is coming. And the long, dark night.

It was an ill-fated omen. Unlucky stars gleamed boldly in the night, their smiles – full of steely fang and bite.

What else shall decide the fate of this nation?

Tired, weary and serving hands. Our hands.

6 Responses to What decides the fate of a nation? And other social media DOHS!

  1. Betsy Cross says:

    I believe that individuals shape families and families build communities and communities flavor a nation, one individual at a time.
    But God can shape an individual if allowed. And that alone can change the direction of everything, one person at a time.
    I vote because it’s a privilege, not because I think I make a difference. I vote to affirm where I stand, quietly and very aware that the outcome should never change me. I always seek to do good and that’s a challenge in and of itself.

    • Stan Faryna says:

      What is a privilege and what men (or women or principalities) grant this privilege to you?

      I appreciate your honesty, Bets. Thank you. So now I must contemplate what is this privilege – nevermind, of course, the electoral college.

      I ask myself if it is a privilege to choose between the lesser of two evils and never the better of many possible and common goods? Or an infernal contract? [big smile]

      I also ask myself, what are the consequences upon the individual conscience, my soul, and my Destiny for exercising an infernal contract to choose evil – even if I choose the lesser of two evils.

      Merriam Webster defines privilege as a right or immunity granted as a peculiar benefit, advantage, or favor.

      Peculiar is an interesting word choice, indeed.

      They give the following examples of the proper usage of privilege:

      1. Good health care should be a right and not a privilege.
      2. We had the privilege of being invited to the party.
      3. I had the privilege of knowing your grandfather.
      4. He lived a life of wealth and privilege.

      If I understood Jefferson’s Declaration of Independence correctly, neither the federal nor the state government grants me anything that is ontological, it merely ensures that what’s mine remains mine- including my conscience, my life, my liberty, my property, my privacy, and my pursuit of blessings as bestowed from above – an inheritance and revenue that belongs to me through my dignity as a human person.

      Ouf! There is so much to think through…

  2. Betsy Cross says:

    I’m very patriotic. I love the freedom’s we enjoy in America. But the election does not make or break anything for me.

    Tomorrow will still come with all of my personal trials getting better or worse. I will still believe in the same God and look to Him as I always do for direction.

    I will honor and respect the office of the President and I’ll obey the law (obeying the speed limit is one I’ll work on).

    If I feel passionate about change, I’ll jump in.

    Everything I have and am I owe to Him, not any government.

    As an American I’m a very spoiled human being who takes for granted almost everything I own, enjoy and experience as normal.

    But regardless of the outcome of the election, He’ll still be there.

    I can’t debate you on privilege. :) and rights.

    I just know. I tell my children that any man or woman chosen to lead our country, as long as he/she prays and listens for guidance, will do just fine. But my job as a mother will stay the same.

  3. Betsy Cross says:

    I woke up this morning and didn’t know who had won….now I know. I feel a deeper dread than I’ve ever felt.
    THAT was an unexpected feeling. But at least I know where I stand. Just had to come back and admit that it was really clear to me that I did care and that there were two distinct roads to choose from for our country as far as leadership goes
    The future will be interesting to say the least.
    YUCK!

  4. TheJackB says:

    I am simply not worried and have faith we will work to make things work.

Speak from your heart!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 171 other followers

