What is love? Baby don’t hurt me…

Who am I? Who are you? What can we hope? What must we do?

by Stan Faryna

Stan Faryna

Haddaway, What is Love?

What is Love?

What is Love?

Baby don’t hurt me…

Baby don’t hurt me, no more.

I don’t know why you’re not fair.

I give you my love but you don’t care.

So what is right and what is wrong?

Give me a sign.

That’s the words Haddaway sings. And I wonder why a song about love is so full of fear and unanswered questions. And I wonder why this song comes to mind as I reflect upon my calling. To do and encourage good. To avoid and oppose evil. To walk in beauty.

There are words written on the wall of a small bedroom. And if words are written on the wall, know they were written with great passion and desperation. I know this about words written upon a wall because I wrote my last love letter and farewell to my ex-wife upon our bedroom wall.

But the words that I want to share with you are not mine. These words were written by a hero. A woman. A saint. Someone with whom I shall never compare in virtue and purity of heart.

Do it anyway

People are often unreasonable, irrational, and self-centered. Forgive them anyway.

If you are kind, people may accuse you of selfish, ulterior motives. Be kind anyway.

If you are successful, you will win some unfaithful friends and some genuine enemies. Succeed anyway.

If you are honest and sincere people may deceive you. Be honest and sincere anyway.

What you spend years creating, others could destroy overnight. Create anyway.

If you find serenity and happiness, some may be jealous. Be happy anyway.

The good you do today, will often be forgotten. Do good anyway.

Give the best you have, and it will never be enough. Give your best anyway.

In the final analysis, it is between you and God. It was never between you and them anyway.

And therein is a powerful and deep answer to our searching questions… what is love.

Gustav Klimt’s Adam and Eve

adam and eve

Love anyway

Do it anyway. Because to not love… is to not be. To not do it (love), is you not being you.

Regardless of the agonies and pain, the countless, lesser defeats and disappointments, the unanswered questions and prayers… do it anyway.

Love anyway. Because you and I were made to love strongly, wholeheartedly – like star light that searches the distance and darkness of deep space.

Just to be clear, I’m not talking about sex. I’m talking about how to live. How to lead. How to be.

Stan Faryna
02 April 2013
Fairfax, Virginia

Recent blog posts:

The Adventures of The Corsair

Season 3 Finale of The Walking Dead

When your best is suck

If you got something from this blog post, please like it, 5 star it, and/or subscribe.

5 Responses to What is love? Baby don’t hurt me…

  1. Betsy Cross says:

    Truer words cannot be said. Fear can ruin us because it locks away everything beautiful. And nobody ever really knows how much is hidden and held back except for us. But God knows us. And He knows that we are here to live and we’ll get hurt…a lot.
    Great reminders, Stan.
    Thank you.

  2. “I’m talking about how to live. How to lead. How to be.” I.love.this. Cheers! Kaarina

    • Stan Faryna says:

      Thank you, Kaarina. You having trained competitors for the Olympics, I imagine this is the kind of rocket fuel they eat for breakfast.

  3. spotmagicsolis says:

    Nearly all of Gustav Klimt’s women were prostitutes and he was messed up emotionally. In his art, you see distancing, longing and even pain. As you noted about the song, so too does the painting illustrate.

Speak from your heart!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 171 other followers

