moby and me: last night, austin, democrats and degenerates

moby is writing a lot more these days. His new album, Last Night, is about to be released for sale. Several singles from Last Night are out there on the internet. Here’s some links…

Check out the moby singles samples here, here, here or here.

Ok, I feel bad that I haven’t written to moby in two weeks. I’m sorry, dude. Iarta-ma.

I’ve been a little busy.

I’m trying to work out something interesting for the Yahoo! advertising guy in Romania. His name is Mihai Fanache. Despite Mr. Fanache’s ADHD, he rocks for a 20-something entrepreneur. With the support of the mysterious Orlando Nicoara, he came a long way from being just another talented, hardcore young guy out of Targoviste.

Below: Lou Reed, A Walk On The Wild Side

………………………………………………………

……………………………………………………….
Last Night

Dude, do you feel irreversibly contaminated by your celebrity life?

I continue to ponder your interview statement… that celebrity is a “corrosive” institution?

What’s it like… not to be anchored to ordinary reality with a 9-5 job?

What’s it like… not have to put up with people you don’t like, eight hours Monday through Friday?

Do you lose basic social skills and sociable perspective?

For example, does your contempt for nuissiants (nuisances and insouciants) get so out of hand (for lack of having to interact with them)… so much so that you just fade them into the background noise?

Did you get crunk with the new dawgs at the disco, last night?

Perhaps, this is asking too much.

I understand.

moby writes:

“today i played ‘walk on the wild side’ with lou reed.”

Am I walking on the wild side? Or will I become L’ Etranger a la Albert Camus?

As an ex-pat, I find myself losing some of the cultural prejudice that I brought with me. Some- not all of it.

Wave the American flag in front of me and play a dramatic song and I will get misty eyed. I can’t seem to get a handle on that one. Try as I may…

There’s things that stick like Martin Luther King, Jr.’s 1963 speech on the steps of the Lincoln memorial. I think the speech has a unconscious program that turns up the adrenalin and heart beat two notches. It kicks me into a state of piety, reverence, inspiration, and a sense of the eternal… every time I hear the word, Free…

Below, see the full version (17 minutes) of Martin Luther King’s famous “I have a dream” speech…

……………………………………………..

………………………………………………

Freedom and Amerika!

Of course, my vision of freedom goes far beyond civil rights and the common good. It reaches to eternity and shines out to me like the beauty of distant stars…

On a lessor note, pie sticks too. And, I regret, Europeans don’t got… good Pie.

Have I lost my American-ness?

I have a Starbucks frequent flyer card, two ipods, and two 55 inch flat screen High Definition televisions… does this not make me American?!

Um.

I smoke Marlboro reds (16 years and counting), I drink Coca-cola, I’ve been to both Disneyland and Disney World many times, and my favorite drink is an iced venti green tea latte. I like my aged ribeye steak on the bone and cooked medium rare (Europeans would never order such a thing). Of course, I sneak hand-rolled and individually licked Cuban cigars everytime I fly back stateside like any other respectable businessman (just joking!).

I even have a “Charters of Freedom room” in my Bucharest office. It’s the meeting room. I have two scaled down reproductions of the 1936 Faulkner murals in the Rotunda for the Charters of Freedom at the National Archives in Washington, D.C. One painting depicts the signers of the Constitution and the other, the signers of the Declaration of Independence. And next to each painting, a framed scaled down replica of the Constitution and Declaration of Independence. Unlike Faulkner’s murals, my reproductions have a bit more color and life to them. Still the restoration of the murals helped a bit.

The reproductions were made to my order by a rising Romanian painter, Gabriel Prundeanu. I also had a second smaller set produced as a Christmas present for Roy Willis, CEO of the Propane Education and Research Council. I am told that set hangs in his Washington, D.C. office on K street.

Let’s not forget – I have Gilligan’s Island, Good Times, The Monkees, Bewitched, He-man, Popeye, Hogan’s Heroes and Dr. Who playing in the back of my subsconscious. I am watching the new Dr. Who these days too…

I hate to disappoint some of the hyenas out there, but I remain an American. My grandmother, a proud Daughter of the Revolution, has the geneological papers to prove it. She claims we descend from 15 American Revolutionary soldiers on the American side. The foremost was a Moses Hayes. I can’t believe that I remember that. Grandma Lou would be proud!

Perhaps, I am no longer an ugly American. I can hope… [grin]

Hm. Perhaps, that is too much information…

Hyenas

Last night, an anonymous person commented on one of my politically-incorrect blog posts about Hillary Clinton and Barack Obama. He or she suggested that my opinion could be considered unamerican.

It seems that my blog posts are getting more comments from the likes of the hyenas lurking about in your forum. Yes, hyenas are semi-intelligent cat-like carnivores (herpestidae), strategic scavengers, and somehow mentally 404… as in 404 error – page not found.

But it’s not all bad. I’m getting some new fans too. And they are kind enough to leave encouraging comments in the Buzzfuse widget. Hint. Hint.

As I learned at your place, feeding hyenas typically does not end nicely. I admit that I made the mistake of mistaking your forum hyenas for trolls, but- in fact- trolls leave less scent than hyenas. Like a working girl on her first time out, I had to wash several times after that experience. [laughing]

moby writes:

over the last few weeks i’ve found hillary’s campaign to be increasingly distasteful and obama’s campaign to be steady and dignified. hillary is behind in delegates and popular votes and number of states won. she’s run a slip-shod campaign. maybe it’s time for her to throw in the towel and support obama? i think that would be good. so, thanks in advance for conceding, hillary.”

and, really, clinton talking about obama as vp? what the hell is the clinton camp thinking? obama is ahead
in delegates and the popular vote. that means he’s the frontrunner. and the clintons are thinking of him as vp? that’s like me asking coldplay to be my opening act on tour. and why do the clintons mention obama’s lack of experience? here are some thoughts:

1-obama has 200% more foreign policy experience than bill clinton did when he was elected.
2-i like hillary, but living in the white house just doesn’t count as political experience. i mean, is
anyone talking about laura bush as a presidential contender?
3-doesn’t the clinton camp know that people really like obama and find his campaign to be
well-run and inspiring? when they attack obama they’re attacking his supporters, and that’s
really bad politics.

(can you tell that i, and many others, are becoming increasingly disillusioned with the clinton
campaign? a part of me either wishes that she’d go back to being her wonky self or that she would
withdraw from the race and lend her support to obama.).

oh, 4-if the clintons try to ‘turn’ or ‘change’ delegates or try to win with superdelegates
they will incur the eternal wrath of almost every democrat i know. no one wants another
president or candidate who sneaks through via a shifty anachronistic loophole.

Speaking of hyenas, I’m glad to see you recognize Hillary’s hyena-antics as such.

Irreversible Contamination

Am I “irreversibly contaminated”?

Last night, I remembered the concept of “irreversible contamination” from the first episode of the sci-fi series Farscape. Farscape is about an American astronaut (Crichton) who test piloted an experimental space craft; he hits a wormhole that takes him to another galaxy and then the fun begins. On arrival, Critchon’s inferior ship bumps an alien ship that crashes and burns- a ship piloted by the brother of a megalomaniac spaceship captain, Crais. Naturally, Crais wants to avenge his brother’s death.

Peacekeeper Aeryn Sun, one of Crais’ stormtroopers, spends a little time with Crichton, the alien earth man who’s always trying to appeal to a sense of reason, justice and “humanity” in a ruthless alien galaxy. Sun briefly questions her superior officer’s motives. Naturally, Captain Crais decides that Sun is “irreversible contaminated” as demonstrated by her capacity for independent thought.

Of course, the indictment is baseless, but Aeryn Sun has no other recourse than to escape a death sentence by allying with known criminals and enemies of the state.

This morning, I asked a few friends if they think I’m irreversibly contaminated. And they nodded enthusiastically. I’m told that I’m becoming a Romanian- incet, incet.

Good or bad thing? Have I escaped the gravity of American gutter culture in the foot steps of the Nietzschean ubernaut? Or have I lost bearing on where home is and, if so, there may never again be a happy homecoming for me…

We’ll see.

Austin, Texas

moby writes:

“not to schill for sxsw, but sxsw is a remarkable music festival/conference/conclave/cabal. it’s warm. there are 18,000,000 venues. everythings within walking distance. the hotels and venues are on top of each other. there are 2,000 bands. and everyone starts drinking at noon.”

Sounds like you’re having fun in Austin. I have a good friend who studied there and I happen to remember past correspondence where he praised Austin as the new Mecca for food, beer and music. Also know some IT people who migrated there in the last few years. Myself, I’ve never been there. I’d like to see it sometime.

Ooh Yeah

I had a good belly laugh at your re-serving of the playful response to Dr. Laura. I’m guessing this is Dr. Laura Schlesinger’s In My Never To Be Humble Opinion radio show- but I remain uncertain. But thanks for sharing the letter…

Dear Dr. Laura,

Thank you for doing so much to educate people regarding God’s Law. I have learned a great deal from your show, and I try to share that knowledge with as many people as I can. When someone tries to defend the homosexual lifestyle, for example, I simply remind him that Leviticus 18:22 clearly states homosexuality to be an abomination. End of debate.

I do need some advice from you, however, regarding some of the specific laws and how to best follow them.

a) When I burn a bull on the altar as a sacrifice, I know it creates a pleasing odor for the Lord (Lev 1:9). The problem is my neighbors. They claim the odor is not pleasing to them. Should I smite them?

b) I would like to sell my daughter into slavery, as sanctioned in Exodus 21:7. In this day and age, what do you think would be a fair price for her?

c) I know that I am allowed no contact with a woman while she is in her period of menstrual uncleanliness (Lev 15:19-24). The problem is, how do I tell? I have tried asking, but most women take offense.

d) Lev. 25:44 states that I may indeed possess slaves, both male and female, provided they are purchased from neighboring nations. A friend of mine claims that this applies to Mexicans, but not Canadians. Can you clarify? Why can’t I own Canadians?

e) I have a neighbor who insists on working on the Sabbath. Exodus 35:2 clearly states he should be put to death. Am I morally obligated to kill him myself?

f) A friend of mine feels that even though eating shellfish is an Abomination (Lev 11:10), it is a lesser abomination than homosexuality. I don’t agree. Can you settle this?

g) Lev 21:20 states that I may not approach the altar of God if I have a defect in my sight. I have to admit that I wear reading glasses. Does my vision have to be 20/20, or is there some wiggle room here?

h) Most of my male friends get their hair trimmed, including the hair around their temples, even though this is expressly forbidden by Lev 19:27. How should they die?

i) I know from Lev 11:6-8 that touching the skin of a dead pig makes me unclean, but may I still play football if I wear gloves?

j) My uncle has a farm. He violates Lev 19:19 by planting two different crops in the same field, as does his wife by wearing garments made of two different kinds of thread (cotton/polyester blend). He also tends to curse and blaspheme a lot. Is it really necessary that we go to all the trouble of getting the whole town together to stone them? (Lev 24:10-16) Couldn’t we just burn them to death at a private family affair like we do with people who sleep with their in-laws? (Lev. 20:14)

I know you have studied these things extensively, so I am confident you can help.

Thank you again for reminding us that God’s word is eternal and unchanging.

Your devoted disciple and adoring fan.
www-users.cs.york.ac.uk

Degenerates

To be fair, I read a few of Dr. Laura Schlesinger’s blog posts and I found her to offer exceptional insights- more importantly, she did so without any reference to the Bible. Maybe, I need to do more digging there. Regarding the now infamous New York Governor Eliot Spitzer, Dr. Laura was asked on a television show why a man in his high position would cheat on his wife.

Dr. Laura’s answer:

“When a person is in a high position of power, especially a man, there is a sense of entitlement and a sense of being…above the law because of the importance of what they do – because of the importance of who they are.”

She was also asked why men cheat in general.

Dr. Laura’s response:

“Men need validation. When they come into the world they are born of women and getting their validation from mommy is the beginning of needing it from a woman. And when the wife does not focus in on the needs and the feelings, sexually, personally to make him feel like a man, to make him feel like a success, to make him feel like a hero, he’s very susceptible to the charms of some other woman making him feel what he needs. And these days women don’t spend a lot of time thinking about how they can give a man what they need.”

Apparently, Dr. Laura’s co-panelists and others were shocked and outraged. IMHO, she told it like it be.

Below: Coldplay, Don’t Panic. Some music to contemplate the problematic of love in the 21st Century.
……………………………………………….

……………………………………………….

I’ve been waiting a long time for some validation, myself. Some validation, something like home.

Add to Technorati Favorites

Stan Faryna
March 15, 2008
Bucharest, Romania

………………………………………………………………………………………………..
………………………………………………………………………………………………..

FEED UPON other posts about moby by Stan Faryna:

>> Concidence and Melancholy
>> Bucharest and Chestie
>> New moby album coming out, Last Night

………………………………………………………………………………………………..
………………………………………………………………………………………………..

About Stan Faryna

He is the founder and co-founder of several technology, design and communication companies in the United States and Europe including Faryna & Associates, Inc., Halo Interactive, and others.

His political, scholarly, social and technical opinions have appeared in The Chicago Defender, Jurnalul National, The Washington Times, Sagar, Saptamana Financiara, Social Justice Review, and other publications.

Mr. Faryna is editor-in-chief of Black and Right (Praeger Press, 1996), a landmark collection of socio-political essays by important American thinkers including U.S. Supreme Court Justice Clarence Thomas.

Copyright

Copyright 1996 to 2008 by Stan Faryna.

Here’s my fair use policy for my content:

If you want to share my content with your own audience, you may quote a brief excerpt, if and only if, you provide proper attribution (Source: The unofficial blog of Stan Faryna) with a direct link to the source. You may not republish or translate the entire article without my written permission. Send your request for permission by inmail through the linkedin professional network at www.linkedin.com.

Speak from your heart!

