The Economics of Being and Joy: Why you must say THANK YOU!

Thank you for giving me your time. You may (or may not) be busy, today. But there was something else you could be doing. There always is. Maybe, something better. So I thank you for showing up.

I don’t have a deep thought to share with you. But I do have a deep feeling to share with you. Today, I want to give thanks to someone written in my heart. And I invite you to give thanks to someone written in your heart.

Alanis Morissette, Thank You

Because we need to say thank you. We need to say thank you, everyday. I’m not saying that it’s a nice thing to do. What I am saying is that we owe it. I’m saying that it is a debt we must pay. I’m also saying that we cannot be truly ourselves without giving and receiving thanks from our hearts. Beyond that, you cannot know the depth and breadth and height of joy until your heart is filled with thanksgiving, gratitude, and appreciation.

This is the economics of being and joy.

You don’t need to wonder why you do not have enough joy in your life. Because the answer is right here. Right now. You’re very welcome. [grin]

You can say thank you to someone written in your heart here on my blog (in the comments) or you make your own blog post. If you make your own blog post, give us the link here (in the comments) so that we can share and serve you as a witness to your joy.

Be thankful. There is someone out there that has up lifted you, carried you through troubles, or made everything better – even if just by a small percentage.

There is someone that was/is one of the secret ingredients in the awesome sauce that makes life wonderful to you. There is more than one – whether or not you have a heart to confess it.

Thank you, Nicole. You are amazing!

Nicoleta Mocanu

Nicoleta Mocanu

Nicoleta and Nina Mocanu

Stan Faryna
5 August 2011
Bucharest, Romania

P.S. Thank you Janet Callaway, Lori Gosselin, and Amber-Lee for inspiring me to look deep into the beating heart of joy and come to an intimate understanding of the beauty and truth of living in thankfulness.

And I thank you, Jack, who reminds me that sometimes, sunsets are unavoidable. But they don’t have to make us heartless and cruel scallywags.

Most Popular Faryna Podcasts

1. If Tomorrow Was Your Last Day: Faryna Podcast EP2

http://wp.me/pbg0R-la

2. Money Can’t Buy Happiness: Faryna Podcast EP3

http://wp.me/pbg0R-lv

3. The First Duty of Love is to Listen: Faryna Podcast EP4
http://wp.me/pbg0R-lO

Note: If you want to make a professional podcast out of your blog post, get in touch with Adrian Klein on Twitter or Facebook.

16 Responses to The Economics of Being and Joy: Why you must say THANK YOU!

  1. Madalina Cristea says:

    Remember when you wanted to make me cry with something you wrote? …….well, you finally did it. :(

    As for the “Thank you”s….I’m thankful every day, to God, to my family, to my friends, and to the man I love, even if I don’t write this anywhere. And I am thankful to you, Stan, for being such a good friend, for helping and listening to me so many times. :) :hug:

    • Stan Faryna says:

      Oh – Maddy. Big hug to you!

      Thank you for your friendship. Thank you for your encouragement. I don’t know if I would have gotten as far as I did with the unfinished novel without all your encouraging fan art!

  2. Betsy Cross says:

    Like rain in a desert…that’s what thank you’s and kind words are to me.
    Thanks for the inspiration!
    Betsy

    • Stan Faryna says:

      Thank you, Betsy. I’m just getting to know you and I’m so glad that I am. I’m looking forward to your next blog post!

  3. Hi Stan,
    Thank YOU for mentioning me. YOU are someone I’m grateful to have met! There are so many people who, as they say, come into our lives for a time and a purpose and their showing-up was perfectly timed!
    I know I’m not grateful ENOUGH and I’m inspired by this post to work on that.
    If I had to choose one person I’d choose my mother who died nearly 6 years ago. She was such a huge influence on my life and left such an unfillable hole when she left. You don’t realize the power and responsibility of being a parent until you can look both ways (my mother, my daughter) and wonder if you will be to your daughter what your mother was to you. I remember reading once that if you failed as a parent nothing else you do will matter very much. Ah! But if you succeed, at least in the major ways, what a wonderful life you’ve already led and what a precious success you’ve already enjoyed.
    You got me thinking again Stan! Thanks again for considering me someone YOU are grateful to know as the feeling is mutual.
    Lori

  4. Thanks Stan (and Lori for RT) I can not THANK YOU enough for this. I am always talking about Gratitude. (ask Lori) Saying thank you and being grateful are so important. It seems so many people “expect” and don’t “appreciate” people any more. Hope a lot of people read this an actually do it !

    It really is important to show you C.A.R.E.

    All i can say is, what a difference to wake up with “Gratitude” instead of an “Attitude”

    Al

    • Stan Faryna says:

      What a difference it is to wake up with “Gratitude” instead of an “Attitude”

      Yes!

      Thank you, Al. You said it, perfectly.

  5. Stan,
    What I am thankful for every minute is every agony, heartbreak and betrayal that has befallen on me.

    If I feel pain turning into despair, I sit and think, ok, if I hadn’t been shot, I would have never met Judd, I wouldn’t have my Zachariah (my 12 year old son)….

    ..I guess that is really when I starting growing up… started taking a really close look at who and what I was, and what I had done with my life, who had I helped… Who was I going to be?

    Zachariah (and his baby sister, Isabella, of course) is the light in the darkest moments. He is the reason. “Remembered by GOD”..I used every minute of 9 months of the absolute hated hell of pregnancy to find the right name. I read it, and knew. One thing I never wanted him to feel was, forgotten. Alone.

    The friendship we have started (I feel), you and I, means so much to me. So very much. Thank you. For every minute. ~Amber-Lee

    • Stan Faryna says:

      I am thankful for your friendship, Amber-Lee. You never fail to move my heart with your blog posts and comments.

      Oh – did you notice that Zach is the name of one of the heroes in my science fiction novel?

  6. Thank you Stan. We are all in this together and I appreciate your standing shoulder to shoulder with me.

  7. great post stan. i love how connected you are to emotion and the way that gives your words strength. always enjoy reading your posts! xo

  8. Thank you Stan, just for being you. You truly inspire me.

  9. Stan Faryna says:

    Feel free to leave a hyperlink and the blog post title to your recent blog post. Hopefully, with a comment. [grin] I don’t have any issues with polite self-promotion in the comments. Actually, I encourage it. And, just maybe, I’ll come visit.

Speak from your heart!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

