What the Hulk of the Marvel Avengers can teach you about the god delusion

[cry]

by Stan Faryna

Stan Faryna

I was going to write today about what the Incredible Hulk can teach you about the god delusion - Stephen Hawking actually has no clue about God despite his theoretical aspirations to know the heavens.

There’s a scene in the Marvel Avengers movie where Hulk slaps Loki (entirely) against the floor many times – Loki is the Norse god of mischief. It’s ridiculously funny and a powerful metaphor of what’s going to happen to the 1 percent if the 99 percent get really angry. No delusion of grandeur can stand against the rage of humanity – a rage that is waiting to be uncorked like a great wine.

But then I considered there is an even greater superhero than all of the Marvel Avengers put together – and a greater metaphor – a superhero that inspires me today as I consider the challenges that I face and, also, the challenges faced by those whose names are spoken in my prayers.

This superhero teaches us in his living and dying that we must face our challenges with love. Even as we fall – though our bodies and minds be ravaged by unstoppable and ruthless antagonists.

It was never promised by wise men or true prophets that we should live forever in these bodies. Nor that we shall amass a king’s treasury and live recklessly and light-heartedly like the princes and princesses of fairy tales. Nor prevail against misfortunes – natural or by the unkind hand of others.

Still, we can love. We can shine bright. We can lift others up. This, in fact, may be what it means to do what you were born to do.

And THIS! This does not lack luster or pale in compare. There is beauty in this that defies the wonder and majesty of a million stars, their celestial courts, and all their august adornments.

The superhero’s name is Cody Green. Cody is not an avenger, he is a U.S. Marine. Actually, Cody is an honorary marine.

Cody was recently named an honorary member of the United States Marine Corps. He received this honor for the honor and courage of his 12 year battle with leukemia. A U.S. Marine who came to decorate Cody stood guard outside Cody’s hospital room for eight hours until 12 year old Cody Green died.

U.S. Marine that stood guard at Cody’s door talks about Cody

Taps

Stan Faryna
22 May 2012
Bucharest, Romania

12 Responses to What the Hulk of the Marvel Avengers can teach you about the god delusion

  1. Betsy Cross says:

    “Still, we can love. We can shine bright. We can lift others up. This, in fact, may be what it means to do what you were born to do.”

    This whole post was incredibly moving. It got to me. Thanks.

  2. Beautifully said. I’ve missed reading some of your thoughts. Glad to catch up!

  3. Thorough and sensitive. Thanks Stan. I’ve a lot of friends like Hulk. They are not as famous as Hulk but they are superheros anyway.

  4. Maru Seawolf says:

    Everyone can be a superhero in their own way, For me It’s showing people compassion and as much love as I can.. I don’t have a job but It’s hard to obtain one, I run the business of getting really close bonds with those I care about. And they care for me. I’ve fought the battle against depression for a long time.. I’ve had suicidal thoughts many times and people don’t understand.. I could be having the best day ever and still suffer from depressions wrath.. But I fight it as best as I can I considered killing myself when i turned 18.. Because a Gay kid growing up in a conservative christian community doesn’t have much to look to.. But I took a chance I traveled from Michigan to Portland Oregon and now Seattle Washington area.. And the last 3 years(I’m 21) have been the best years of my life and I have someone that’s very glad that I didn’t decide to off myself. And helps and holds me through my depression he’s my Superhero.

  5. Paul Morin says:

    Stan. Great work. Great thoughts.
    “This superhero teaches us in his living and dying that we must face our challenges with love. Even as we fall – though our bodies and minds be ravaged by unstoppable and ruthless antagonists.”
    This spoke to me most.
    Thank you for sharing.

  6. billdorman says:

    Love conquers all; there can never be too much love to go around.

Speak from your heart!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 166 other followers

