Nobody cares about your #Earthday tweet or post. #100inches

Nobody cares about your disingenuous #Earthday tweet or post.

by Stan Faryna

Stan Faryna

Michael Jackson, They don’t care about us

Foreword

Earthday is on April 22nd. That could be today, tomorrow, or yesterday – depending on when you read this post. Most of my readership will not read this post. In fact, I predict that less than 20 people will read this post – regardless of the effort I made to pull readers in with a snarky title.

Did it work, Josh?

My doing this blog post despite the general dissympathy for Creation – that’s the kind of fire in the belly that distinguishes the blogger from the attention whores. [grin]

Enough with the snark! Because I have contempt for none. But I do have a place in my heart for you and the whole world.

This is what it means to fire it up, get ‘er done, and step up. There are no rewards and applause for doing the right thing – persistently. But the world, regardless of the lack of happy noise, gets better by these unappreciated inches – inch by inch.

Earthday

The insipid, lackluster and uninspired description of Earthday provided by Wikipedia is here:

Earthday is an annual day on which events are held worldwide to demonstrate support for environmental protection

As Bill Dorman might ask – did a fifth grader write that?! [grin]

If I was asked to write the first sentence, this is what I would have written:

Earthday is a day for peoples and nations to recognize, understand and take actions against the serious and potentially irreversible and devastating impact of unreflected human activity on the environment, on the planet, and, perhaps, all of life. Potentially at stake is your life or the quality of your life. At immediate stake is the lives of the poor. And future generations will curse us for they shall inherit an unavoidable legacy of troubles, natural disasters, anguish and violence. 

That’s a bit more than a sentence, but I would like to point out that I have emphasized actions for a reason. Because it is only by each of us, everywhere, contributing a hundred inches per year in conscious, reflected care of Creation – that we can minimize the terror and consequences of our dissympathy for Creation. Nature. The Planet.

100 inches

You are not stupid! You can figure this out for yourself – your 100 inches. You can also help others decide on and do their inches.

If you don’t figure it out and/or you don’t help others, then you’re just another terrorist suspect with a number. Suspect number 3. Or suspect number 315. Or, maybe, suspect number 6, 386,924,226. The number doesn’t matter. What matters is that you could be an enemy combatant to future generations – if and only if you can’t be bigger than your personal problems and selfish ambitions.

Let’s focus on the happy, shall we? Let’s focus on actions- because you believe you are good and decent. And I believe in a better you and a better me.

In the comments below, I invite you to step up and share ten (or more) inches that you will do this month to care for this world.

A future flower bed – a small part of one inch in my 100 inches.

flower bed #100inches

Stan Faryna
22 April 2013
Fairfax, Virginia

Recent blog posts:

Beauty, Come and Get Some

Freedom is Solid

Season 3 Finale of The Walking Dead

Click and buy the mug shown below and help feed kids.

Faryna Mug - love never fails

7 Responses to Nobody cares about your #Earthday tweet or post. #100inches

  1. Stan Faryna says:

    Pollinators

    The pollinators are dying – bees, butterflies, etc. Bees, Ellen Page tells us, facilitate the pollination of one third of our food crop. You can learn more about what she is doing to care for Creation at http://www.vanishingbees.com

    Various pesticides and weed killers have been identified as one of the causes of the bee die off.

    One Inch: Completed
    Sign the petition to ban bee poison at http://www.avaaz.org/en/hours_to_save_the_bees_new/?bCdQweb&v=24296

    One Inch: Completed
    I will not use pesticides or weed killers in my lawn and garden. If that means a green grass lawn is unsustainable, I’ll figure out another way to create a charming landscape.

    Eight Inches: Pending
    I am installing plants that feed the bees, butterflies, fireflies, etc: butterfly bushes, yarrow, lilies, etc.

    Awareness

    One Inch: Completed
    I’ll spread the word. Specifically, I’ll share information and links via Facebook, Google Plus and Twitter. It won’t be less than 100 instances and, yeah, this inch doesn’t count until I make all 100 shares.

    Encouragment

    One Inch: Pending
    I’ll use the hashtag #100inches (when appropriate) to encourage those of you doing your 100 inches.

  2. Betsy Cross says:

    I love gardening. Have since I watched my dad throwing fish heads into newly turned garden furrows and covering the planted beds with seaweed mulch. I don’t garden to save the Earth. And I don’t use pesticides because I can’t be bothered. So, I come at it from a different direction, but the result is the same even if less passionate.
    I love to see the kids get excited about picking beans and peas and eating them as they play.
    I haven’t had a good garden in a few years because we’ve moved a lot. But wherever we live, I do my best to beautify the yard. It adds to the quality of our life to plant, care for, and enjoy plants.
    I’m just one person and I’m not going to make much of a difference. But my children will grow up to know how to plant there own food.
    I went to my friend’s alpaca farm last week and I was in Heaven. I told her that I’d buy it (minus the alpaca) when they sell. Somehow! It got me so excited thinking of plowing up the land and planting it!
    Love gardening!

    • Stan Faryna says:

      Gardening is a wonderful landcraft to teach to our children.

      I suppose I’ll have to send you some lily bulbs – if I have extras!

  3. Action…it is the sole change-agent. We can talk about it (which you did eloquently), we can think about it, but until we take action…as you have…nothing happens, nothing changes, nothing improves.

    I love my gardens and bees and butterflies and wildlife here around my home, and I work diligently to preserve, protect and expand my reach, to support and nurture mother Earth and all she supports.

    We haven’t used any types of noxious chemicals around or in our home for as many years as I can remember. I hand pull dandelions (the greens of which are good in salad), mulch and compost. I use baking soda and vinegar as cleaners in the home. I’m in awe of all that this Earth provides to us, and will continue to do my best to protect and expand my 100 inches. Cheers! Kaarina

  4. Stan, we follow in the footsteps of those who have gone before. Chief Seattle encourages us to, ‘Teach your children what we have taught our children, that the Earth is our mother.’ He goes on to say, ‘This we know. The Earth does not belong to us; we belong to the Earth. All things are connected like the blood that unites one family. Whatever befalls the Earth, befalls the children of the Earth.
    We do not weave the web of life; we are only a strand of it. Whatever we do to the web, we do to ourselves.’

    This time of year, my children help prepare and plant a garden, a small 40′ x 100′ plot of earth where heart and healing joins our family to our earth mother. Together, we toil and tier the plot, and gently place tender plants like green and yellow pepper as well as seeds of many colors and sizes that will soon be recognized by young eyes as beans, peas, spinach, and okra. Tomatoes will soon have a home here and marigolds will add their golden hue.

    But we don’t stop there. We remind one another to look with wonder and awe at the distant Blue Ridge, to take notice that our grass is not green but, instead, is filled with the magic of color … and life, and to appreciate creatures, large and small, who keep us company and make life’s living worthwhile.

    For us, every day is earth appreciation day because everyday is a perfect day to appreciate our connection to the Beauty and glory of life and to affirm the love shared one with another.

    Thank you for caring as you do, Stan, and for reminding us of our responsibility to contribute our 100 inches. Love and hugs!

    • Stan Faryna says:

      Disclaimer: Jack has helped me take up some of the grass tops of future flower beds. He sets a wonderful example for us all.

      Jack, you walk the talk, brother. And I am thankful to call you friend and teacher.

Speak from your heart!

