Of Internets and Avalanches

Of Internets and Avalanches

by Stan Faryna

Stan Faryna

Shawn Colvin , Shotgun Down The Avalanche

I’m riding shotgun down the avalanche 
Tumbling and falling down the avalanche

So be quiet tonight the stars
shine bright
On this mountain of new fallen snow
But I will raise up my voice into 
the void
You have left me nowhere to go

I love you so much and it’s so bizarre
A mystery that goes on and on and on 
This is the best thing and the very
most hard
And we don’t get along

I’m disappointed – not disillusioned. I’m riding shotgun down the avalanche.

It feels like self-defeat. Sometimes, I want to run (gladly and passionately) but there’s no where to run to with arms wide open.

The problem, of course, is me.

Do you ever feel that way?

Stan Faryna
16 May 2013
Fairfax, Virginia

Recent blog posts:

How not to Write Poetry

Freedom is Solid

Season 3 Finale of The Walking Dead

Click and buy the mug shown below and help feed kids.

Faryna Mug - love never fails

5 Responses to Of Internets and Avalanches

  1. Betsy Cross says:

    I can’t say I really know where you intended to go with this…but I’ll tell you what has come up for me over and over again when I talk with my mom.

    She (and many other people in my offline community) see a lot of negative associated with the Internet, so much so that I was always getting confused when I talked with her. Then I was sent this video and started connecting the dots between what I love to do FOR people and what I need from them – my “why” for being online.

    (I don’t know how to post the actual video, sorry!)

    Anyways, because everything came together for me, I don’t feel the need to apologize to want to connect, to want to get to know and serve people, to just show up in “trivial” ways online…what a gift we all have in the internet and social networking! The people offline who criticize it all point to what they perceive as narcissistic, and self-absorbed behaviors. It always makes me so sad to be judged that way when my experience has been the opposite in so many ways.

    Sorry to go on…so much to say!

  2. Betsy Cross says:

    Okay, that weird! LOL! My daughter, Kelley, and I were talking the other day about moving. We were looking at a town in North Carolina, on the water- Elizabeth City. Then I told my mom about it. She told me about sinking homes in California and essentially burst my bubble! I NEED to move or find a way to bloom where I live and it always comes back to connecting online! Even my neighbors are connecting to me more on Facebook and my blog more than on our walks!
    I talk to friends about boredom and a general malaise/depresion that everyone seems to be experiencing. It’s so wonderful to be alive, but it’s NOTHING without connections with people who matter to you and you to them. You know?
    I’m okay with boredom. It’s painful, but necessary. I’ll get to a point where I have to do SOMETHING, go ANYWHERE, or talk to ANYONE who can shake me up a bit, and before I know it I’m okay again. Until then, I sleep a lot! LOL!
    Great post.

  3. TheJackB says:

    I think we all feel that way sometimes.

    • Stan Faryna says:

      It may be that my imagination is overwhelmed with the darkness of these days – the mounting risk of global hyperinflation and Europe’s imminent economic crisis, the failure of information and triumph of misinformation, the demise of the common good and civil liberties in the face of the boundless, violent ambition of the 1 percent, and, perhaps, the spectre of a world war.

Speak from your heart!

