Last Words and Testament

Last words and testament
[Flash Fiction]

by Stan Faryna

Stan Faryna

John wrote it with a stone. He carved it upon the soft floor of his basement prison with his mouth. His hands had been removed.


Can you feel how heaviness pulls on my beating heart? Can you feel the friction of the slowly turning gears? The weight of the elephant that sits on my heart

It’s been so long since I’ve heard the ringing bells in your laughter. Since my heart lifted at your enthusiastic and happy plea. Since joy entered into my eyes as I watched you sleep, peacefully, beside me

I will go but I will come again by God’s grace. For God has appointed me as your hero, your husband, and your lamp. Believe it and if you believe it, proclaim it – Love never fails 

George wept in his unbelief. But he wept without tears. Because ghosts do not have tears.

“Bring my love here when it is safe,” John commanded George after he had finished.

It had taken John forever to write…

“Bring her to this place that she will know that I have not abandoned her – even now.”

George was shocked and angry.

“Are you fucking talking to me now?! Can you fucking see me?! Why haven’t you said anything until now, bro?!”

John smiled and looked with kindly and sympathetic eyes at George.

“I was lost. I was scared, brother.

I had thought I had become mad.

And you could use some clothes.”

Stan Faryna
6 April 2015
Fairfax, Virginia

Speak from your heart!

