Posthumorously [sic]: @danperezfilms @jasonyormark @thesneeze @CraigMcBreen @TMFproject #blogsoup

blog soup 02.17.2012

posthumorously [sic]: 
@danperezfilms @jasonyormark @thesneeze @CraigMcBreen @TMFproject

by Stan Faryna

Stan Faryna

Simon & Garfunkel, Sounds of Silence

Disclaimer

I’m not funny. Sometimes, I might think that I am. And, sometimes, when a woman digs me, she’ll think I’m hilarious. But not for long. And who knows what she had heard in her head – what she thought that I said that was funny. Venus is a mystery in her beauty and her sensibilities.

Hence, posthumorously [sic]. It was my endeavor to be funny though I fail at being funny. This was an exercise in failure and failing fast. Did you love it?

But, wait, there’s more!

Because this is also about blog soup and the end to soup. In other words, there’s social media things going on in this mix. I was curating people. I was promoting them with no expectation of compensation, return of compliment, or shout outs. I don’t make money with blog soup. It’s just fun.

So whatever has happened here, take no offense from idle themes! Because I meant none. Just as an honest and gentle Puck meant none.



The Prom Committee

Dan Perez
Jason Yormark
Captain Smack
The Steve
Craig McBreen
Ashley Ambridge


1. The Bastardization of Pinterest Has Begun: A Rant by Dan Perez

Writes Dan:

Run little kitty!

[prompt: awwww]

But here’s Dan’s kicker (and he always kicks the tire twice):

…prepare to see more social media hyperbole creep into your Pinterest experience a little more each day (where have all the cute puppies gone?). I mean, with 10 million monthly visitors, how can the social media pundits possibly resist?

My comment:

The inability of people to communicate with each other. Or love. Simon said that’s what the song was about. Sounds of Silence. Or was it Garfunkel?

Who said it don’t matter. The fact is that it’s a business model. According to the Wall Street Journal, Pinterest is currently valued at $200 million and it only registers losses – no profit nor revenues to cover operating costs.

Maybe, Wall Street’s perfect business model is about failure and burning up money like its 1999.

Aren’t we talking about Pinterest? Or is it the Matrix. Yes, we are, Neo. [grin]

Like a flash of neon light. That split the night…

People talking without speaking. People hearing without listening…

And the people bowed and prayed to the neon god that they made.

[prompt: applause]

Pinterest could have been about people sharing the beautiful, the good, and the true!

It still could be about these things.

If and only if you stop spreading the lolcats and cheezburger.

Now go… and sin no more!

Social media just dumbed down another notch. I hear you, Dan. I hear you.
[prompt: laughter]

Subscribe to Dan Perez’s blog, Shhh I Haz Snuf Kitteh Videos

Need more Dan Perez? Check out the following:

Twitter Chats, Leadership, and Fantastic Ideologies

Captain Smack, Red Pills, Rabbit Holes, and the Blogging Matrix

Heartworms, Rabies, and Crafty Veterinarians: A Love Story by Dan Perez

,..

Armin van Buuren feat Jennifer Rene, Fine

2. League of Awesomeness by Jason Yormark

Writes Jason:

Know of anyone who deserves to be in the League of Awesomeness? Would love to hear in the comments.

My comment:

Jerry Cornelius. He deserves his own league. It’s gotta be all about Jerry (aka John Magnet Bell and @StartYourNovel on Twitter). No one else is in that league.

Check out Jerry’s kung fu. It’s scary and it’s wonderful. And notice his crazy eyes. Did you know that they glow in the dark like Sith eyes?

He also flashes for the fun of it. He’s got a trench coat with 5,000 pockets of flash fiction.


Subscribe to Jason Yormark’s blog, Pinterest Pinup Boy of the Year

Need more Jason Yormark? Check out the following:

Pinterest For Dudes

Thoughts On Making The Forbes Top 50 Social Media Power Influencers

Social Reach: Size Does Matter


ATB, Twisted Love (Disco Pinterest Remix)

3. Is This Simple Thing Preventing You From Getting More Clients? by Ashley Ambridge

Writes Ashley:

So once upon a time I dated a guy with lots of tattoos who worshipped his mom.

The moral of the story:

If they [your customers] don’t understand what, exactly, you’re selling them…then guess what? You ain’t gonna sell ‘em.

So speaka your customer’s language and drop the bullshit, hype, and technical terminology. That’s what Ashley is saying.

My comment:

Blame it on Craig McBreen. He gave Ashley props and so I gave her a look. Up and down. And I liked what I saw. It turns out she’s funny people. Funny as in crazy.

Ashley Ambridge is someone you’d love to hang with in precise dosages of 15 minutes. Two or three times per week.

NO! I’m not talking about an affair. Get your mind out of the gutter!

But, yeah, that’s how it is. [grin]

Meds aside (yours – not hers), Ashley is god. Or the devil. As in she knows things. As in Ashley is bliss personified.

But you’ll pay for it. Nothing like bliss is free. Things like Love are free. And if you didn’t figure it out yet, I can spill the beans on this: bliss and Love are two different animals.

Ashley is madly beautiful. Wonderful! Witty! From a [safe] distance. Like any blue dwarf star is. [prompt: long exhale]

P.S. The liberal use of color and prompts on this blog soup was inspired by Ashley Ambridge. 

Subscribe to Ashley Ambridge’s blog, Pinsanity is contagious

Need more Ashely Ambridge? Check out the following:

You Don’t Need a job. You need Pinterest.

Resolutions are for Chumps: I Choose Pinterest

Pinners: Please Don’t Puke On Me. Love, Ashley


Vangelis, Conquest of Paradise

4. Let’s Go Crazy by Captain Smack

Writes Captain Smack:

The standard “agreed upon” reality to which most people subscribe was not really set up to be all that exciting. It seems to mostly consist of working, sleeping, and watching TV, and there aren’t even that many good shows on.

With that in mind, I’ve decided to go through a “crazy” phase. Just to kind of shake things up a little. I’ve known some pretty crazy people, and, to tell you the truth, it looks kind of fun. The only thing I need to decide is which form of mental illness I should pursue.

Captain Smack’s handsome menu of illnesses is hilarious.

My comment:

I took the yellow pill with electric blue polka dots at Dan Perez’s blog and found myself in the schizophrenic world of Captain Smack.

Captain Smack could have replaced Captain Crunch at the breakfast table. Captain Smack is hilarious. And the comments too. They seem to be written by Captain Smack too. That’s why they rock. But I understand why the Captain bailed on the blog. After a while of talking to yourself, you get to the point where you know what you’re going to reply to your comments. And, I have to assume, that’s no fun at all.

It’s too bad that Ted Coine retired Captain Smack. Ted’s leadership blog, however, is doing just fine.

Subscribe to Captain Smack’s defunct blog. Just think – you’ll never get a notification!

Need more Captain Smack? Check out the following:

Save the Music Industry – Steal More Music

The Flaming Moth of Pinterest

I like my Pins like I like my women


Koichi Hayakawa, Break the Silence

5. Cabbage Fever by Steve

Writes the Steve:

…I put my son to bed, and just as he was dozing off, he bolted up and screamed “I WANT MY CABBAGE! I WANT MY CABBAGE!” I wasn’t going to fight with him. He’s three, he’d win. I just wanted him to go to sleep, so I gave him the stupid cabbage.

I swear to God, he lugged that cabbage around for the next week and a half. He took naps with it. He brought it for rides in the car. He even threw a tantrum when we wouldn’t let him bring it into Toys ‘R Us.

Read Steve’s blog post and let’s laugh about cabbage.

My comment:

I’m not fond of cabbage. The exception is cole slaw when it’s slathered on a BBQ beef, chicken, or pulled pork sandwich.

Not being fond of cabbage sucks for me as an American Expat living in Romania. Because Romanians are fond of cabbage. A lot of Romanians live on cabbage – I’m saying that’s all they can afford to eat.

The vila next door is filled mostly with old people in apartments valued at a half million dollars or so. They were in those apartments back in the days of Communism. And, you see, it paid off for them. Kinda. They just need to cash that check. Until then, all they eat is cabbages.

If I walked in their shoes, I’d sell the prime real estate, move to a quiet neighborhood outside the center of Bucharest, and eat better. But it’s their choice and, yes, I even get some entertainment out of the irony.

Cabbage is also used as Romanian slang for stupid and clueless. Not, cabbage, but the Romanian word for cabbage, varza. There’s some irony in that too. If you consider any truth to the meme, you are what you eat.

[prompt: collective oouf]

Oh- Steve, you need to get your awesome freak to Pinterest. You’re gonna rock it.

Subscribe to Steve’s blog, Pinterest or bust!

Need more Sneeze? Check out the following:

The World’s Smartest Tree

Don’t Eat It

Elves Got Skillz


Warning, Watching From a Distance (A Tribute to Pinterest)

6. Why cultivating creativity is your blueprint for crackin’ success by Craig McBreen

Writes Craig:

A fairly recent study by IBM pointed to creativity as the most important leadership quality for success in business.

My comment:

Hilarious!

When it comes to talking about creativity, IBM doesn’t have a lot of authority on the subject. How deliciously ironic, Craig! Sock it to ’em!

This is no punk on Craig. I want that to be clear. I like Craig. Craig is totally creative. He builds brands  that spark action. His logo concept for EuroBuilt Stairs is fucking genius.

And Craig is decidedly ironic and witty too!

Where was I? Oh yeah – IBM.

Hmmm. Let’s sell our PC brand to the Chinese for a fast buck. Creative? Not really. Unless failure is a synonym for creativity. Let’s talk about creativity because creativity is cool. Creative? Not really. Not if you are IBM.

Am I being unfair to IBM? In fact, IBM used to be a serious place for creative culture. And I’m going to admit something that I shouldn’t. For the sake of your amusement!

I have this custom designed quartz crystal that tunes my energy, heals me, protects me, and makes me awesome. Maybe. [laughing]

This very, very expensive crystal was created by Marcel Vogel. Vogel served IBM as a research scientist for 27 years. He’s also credited with inventing IBM’s harddrive technologies.

Marcel did all sorts of creative things like that. With IBM money. IBM was creative like that. Emphasis on was.

But how am I going to be creative today, Craig? You? How about a blog post about the awesome that Pinterest is? [grin]

Subscribe to Craig McBreen’s blog.

Need more Craig McBreen? Check out the following:

Do you think social media is bringing us closer together?

An interview with Gini Dietrich

Why not celebrate life by giving thanks?


Feedback

If you think that this blog post sucks, let me know in your comment and don’t forget to include a link to YOUR favorite blog post.

If you think this blog post rocks, tell me why it rocks in the comment. “Awesome,””Great post,” etc. works for me. Don’t forget to include a link to YOUR most recent blog post.

Subscribe to this blog if you would enjoy keeping up with my thoughts and commentary.

Stan Faryna
17 February 2012
Bucharest, Romania

P.S.

No fairies were harmed during the writing and publishing of this blog post.

6 Responses to Posthumorously [sic]: @danperezfilms @jasonyormark @thesneeze @CraigMcBreen @TMFproject #blogsoup

  1. Betsy Cross says:

    My favorite was Cabbage Fever by Steve. My James, 3 ,(and Kenny who’s 6) sleep and play with anything and everything. Kenny has slept with skate boards and ice skates and freaks out if he can’t find THE THING that he HAS to take to bed.Why are those things so hard to find when you really need them?

    Sorry to see the Soup go. It has been fun. Off to bigger and brighter things?

    p.s. good comedy always has a straight man. right? and you do that perfectly!

  2. I think you’re starting to like me 😉
    Thank you…

  3. billdorman says:

    Loaded up indeed. Ashley is very interesting and entertaining. If you want to read something she wrote that blew me away, check out: http://www.redheadwriting.com/been-down-one-time; hold onto your hat, powerful stuff.

  4. Hi Stan,

    Thanks … I think 😉

    I think you’ll like visiting Ashley’s blog. It’s slightly addictive and we all need a little crazy.

Speak from your heart!