Why is truth worthwhile?

Why is truth worthwhile?

by Stan Faryna

Stan Faryna

The Edwin Hawkins Singers, Oh Happy Day

In the midst of snowfall, I pondered truth this morning and why I desire it. And why we should desire truth.

I would like to characterize my hunger for the truth – as a pleasure I enjoy in discovering reality as it can be apprehended or received by rational and other means. I find myself most enthusiastic about truth when I act in wisdom – when I apply my knowledge usefully and successfully for my or others benefit.

Sometimes, those benefits can be as ridiculous as vanity – my own petty self satisfaction that I know better than another. I regret and struggle to renounce this sin of pride as much as possible.

But my greater pleasure, I believe, derives from an uplifting experience when I discover that reality is more beautiful and larger than I (or others) had previously understood.

For example, that our dignity as human persons exceeds the apparently arbitrary values we find assigned to a person within human culture. Specifically in the instance of a victim of human trafficking, slavery, abuse, exploitive labor, murder, or rape. Or in the existential experience of rejection – hate, discrimination, disability, disease, alienation, flight, immigration, diaspora, etc.

I rejoice to know that we are more than our failure, sorrows, pain and shame. And I anticipate with great hope and faith when we will arrive at that uncompromised and joyful experience of ourselves (and each another) as more.

Much more.

Stan Faryna
13 February 2014
Fairfax, Virginia

Facebook
http://www.facebook.com/Faryna.FanPage

Twitter
http://www.twitter.com/Faryna

Google Plus
http://plus.google.com/+StanFaryna

2 Responses to Why is truth worthwhile?

  1. Jay King says:

    I truly believe that once we are fulfilling God’s purpose for our lives, reality becomes something we could have never imagined beforehand.

    A life with meaning and purpose is unrivaled. There is truly something different about venturing through life with a clear understanding of our purpose and a vision of what God created us for. It exceeds any desires we may have for material or superficial things. It is cloaked in value and meaning.

Speak from your heart!