What super powers did you want? #IAmDisabled

Heal the sick, raise the dead, cleanse those who have leprosy, drive out demons. 

– Matthew 10:8

by Stan Faryna

Stan Faryna

When I was a kid, there were several comic book superheroes at the top of my list: The Mighty Thor, Dr. Strange, Superman, and Spiderman. I even tried to fly – more than once. I had the mistaken assumption that all you had to do was believe. I ran and leapt from the roof of our house.

But I did not fly. [grin]

Five For Fighting, Superman

My intention, however, is not to write about super powers. I’m writing to show my support for Nisha Varghese’s campaign against discrimination. I’m showing up. Because that’s what friends do.

Writes Nisha:

I believe that if we make people understand that we are all the same, discrimination would be a thing of the past.

Nisha reminds us that we are all “disabled” – we all have things we wish we could do, but can’t.

Here’s three things I can’t do, but I wish I could:

1. Heal the sick, raise the dead, cleanse the lepers, and cast out demons.

2. Lift up the hearts of the poor in spirit, those who mourn, hunger and thirst, and those who suffer.

3. Have frequent conversations with God, walk in Beauty, and, yes, to love – strongly, fearlessly and unabashedly.

If you would like to help Nisha in her latest endeavor to do good and change the world for the better, write a related blog post with #IAmDisabled in the title and make a direct link to her blog post about the same:

http://nisha360.com/2012/04/day-568-i-am-disabled

Stan Faryna
09 May 2012
Bucharest, Romania

3 Responses to What super powers did you want? #IAmDisabled

  1. Found you via Nisha’s linkup. I love your post 🙂
    For what it’s worth, there’s fortunately medicine for leprosy these days. But I still love the things you wish you could do.

  2. nisha360 says:

    Thanks Stan this is a great post 🙂 You can feed the hunger and give water to the thirsty there are wonderful organizations that can help you do that!

  3. Day 606 | says:

    […] and comment on I am Disabled: I Suck at Driving on Whispers of a Barefoot Medical Student and What super powers did you want? #IAmDisabled on The unofficial blog of Stan Faryna – Thank you Mariechen and Stan for supporting my  I Am […]

Speak from your heart!