Save Me From Myself. And other social media DOHs.

Save Me From Myself. And other social media DOHs.

by Stan Faryna

Stan Faryna

Some things we might have figured out. Or for now. Some things, not too well. Other things, not at all.

Commenting on Jayme Soulati’s recent blog post, 13 Tips To Create Remarkable Content, I mentioned that one of the great insights I’m holding on to is about love.

The only things worth doing are the things worthy of Love.

And as I told Jayme… honestly, I have never been more challenged to live truthfully (live the insight) than now.

Christina Aguilera, Save Me From Myself

I despaired as I wrote that I am challenged, because I am. Challenged. I am disabled.

That word, disabled, reminds me of a tweet last week (or so) by Nisha Varghese. Nisha has cerebral palsy.

Question: What do you wish you do but can’t? #IAmDisabled #SpecialNeeds #Disabilities

Nisha was really asking me how am I disabled. Three things immediately came to mind:

1. I don’t love enough.
2. I don’t give enough.
3. My love doesn’t work wonders. Flowers do not grow from my footsteps.

Sometimes, I don’t think there is enough juice in my loving. Most of the time, I don’t think that I have enough to give in a way that makes a difference. I disappoint myself. Because I can, should, and must do more. But I don’t. Instead of doing more, I find it easier to own the mountain of my failures.

Do you feel like that? Sometimes?

Keep on trying. Don’t give up.

That’s what I’m telling myself.

That’s what you tell me. That’s what I tell you.

That’s how we are saving each other. One piece of me and you – one day at a time. Love, hope, and faith come in pieces. That’s what’s going on. This is what I felt as I read Alexandra’s blog post about blogging.

Because there are some things that are worth it all. All of the time, hours, preparation.

Is that what social media is really about?

Maybe.

Maybe, that’s why we can’t walk away from social media. The results are intangible, but very real and, possibly, bigger than all of the tangibles put together.

Because we are saving each other’s lives, every day.

Possibly.

Stan Faryna
12 April 2012
Cacica, Romania

Feedback

If you think that this blog post sucks, let me know in your comment and don’t forget to include a link to YOUR favorite blog post.

If you think this blog post rocks, tell me why it rocks in the comment. “Awesome,””Great post,” etc. works for me. Don’t forget to include a link to YOUR most recent blog post.

Subscribe to this blog if you would enjoy keeping up with my thoughts and commentary. Like it, rate it and share it – if you want to give me some love. Oh yeah – if you have pinsanity, feel free to follow me on Pinterest: http://pinterest.com/faryna

8 Responses to Save Me From Myself. And other social media DOHs.

  1. Are you being too horribly hard on yourself? Love happens every day; it’s how you comment on a blog, it’s the hugs you give on Twitter across the miles, it’s how you add my name to your writings and acknowledge me when you least expect it.

    Then, there are the lovely ways you show love to those who love you.

    Is your life empty, Stan, of people who love a man so romantic, creative, intense, intelligent and so much more? Snap out, come on, get up and smile. People love you. I do.

    • Stan Faryna says:

      [big smile]

      Thank you, Jayme. You lift me up. You open my eyes to see.

      And, yes, I can be horribly hard on me. On occasion. [grin]

      Especially at those times when I make a profound examination of conscience – Easter, Birthday, and Christmas.

  2. You’re trying you have shown me more love than most people in my real life and to me that counts for a lot 🙂

    Yours truly,
    Nisha

    • Stan Faryna says:

      Thank you for saying so, Nisha. You inspire me. And I am so grateful for you.

      The other day, I was reading Day 321 from your blog. And your words weighed upon my heart.

      You wrote:

      The only way to know if you’re on the right track is to check your inventory…

  3. […] emphasis, of course, is on the increasing survivability (and flourishing) of those who effectively cooperate, collaborate, and mind […]

  4. Stan, I think you emanate tons of love just by the way you think and express yourself. I think it’s all about losing “self” and “ego” and trying to bring out the best in others and you do that quite well!

  5. […] … I appreciate you. … All of you. … For different and individually wonderful reasons. … If I’m not following you on Twitter, read about the Twitter Unfollow Bug and let me […]

  6. […] was thinking about your blog post, Save Me From Myself. I know you were talking about me. You need me in your […]

Speak from your heart!