WTD: someone very special for my online stalker

WTD: someone very special for my online stalker

by Stan Faryna

Stan Faryna

“Why won’t you reply to my emails?”

Fuck Off!

“Don’t use that language with me.”

Oh – Grow up! What else can I say to you to make you stop? If I say, fuck, a million times, maybe you’ll stop.

Maybe, you’ll finally get it. You’re raping me emotionally. Stop means STOP! Stop sending me fucking emails!

Bette Midler, The Wind Beneath My Wings

“I don’t have to take this abuse from you!”

I agree! Does that mean you’ll stop emailing me? Don’t answer that! Don’t send a reply. Trust me, I’ll understand. [grin]

“No.”

Look, I told you I don’t want anything to do with you. Why can’t you understand that? Just stop sending me emails.

“I have things to tell you.”

Tell them to your husband, your priest, or someone. Someone else. Anyone else. Just not me!

“They don’t listen to me.”

For all the obvious reasons…

“That wasn’t a nice thing to write.”

I don’t like to say things like that. But you are STALKING me! And I’ve asked you to stop. Nicely. Kindly. Politely.

“You’re mean! But I also know you are full of light. Shine your light on me. I need your light. Please…”

Please stop. Please…

“I loved your blog post about the Andaman tribe. I watched the video about them. What a strange world we live in.”

“I was thinking about your blog post, Save Me From Myself. I know you were talking about me. You need me in your life.”

“I reread your blog post, Science suggests that RTs, #FFs, Comments, Links, Etc. Are Highly Intelligent Behaviors! What a hoot!”

“Why won’t you reply! Why are you treating me like I’m nothing? Don’t I matter too? I matter to God. I’m full of light and love.”

“Hey, Asshole, I demand a reply at once!”

“I’m sorry that I cursed you. Will you forgive me?”

“I’m not going away. You’re stuck with me! This is destiny.”

“You really piss me off! I can’t believe that you could just turn your back on me when I need you most. You are an asshole!”

“I’m sorry I said what I said. I know I can’t take it back. It’s just my world is falling apart. I’m out of control. I make a mess of everything. Are you reading this email?”

“I hate you!”

“How’s your day going? I had a crappy day again.”

You need help. From a professional. Get help. Ok?

“I knew you were reading my emails. You see. You can’t live without me. You can’t be. You can’t be without me! You wrote it in that blog post…”

Look, I want to see you get help. Get a psychiatrist and once I’ve confirmed that you are on a treatment schedule, we can correspond. Ok?

“HAHAHAHA! I make the rules, my prince. Do you really think that I’m that stupid that I’d let you confirm my identity and, possibly, my home address by speaking with my therapist?”

I confirmed that a long time ago. Your IP address and Internet Service Provider were very helpful. I suppose that I could also call your church and try to work this all out with your priest. 

“Really?!”

Stan Faryna
24 April 2012
Bucharest, Romania

Postscript:

This flash fiction is based on a very real life dilemma.

For more flash fiction, check out StartYourNovel.com.

Feedback

If you think that this blog post sucks, let me know in your comment and don’t forget to include a link to YOUR favorite blog post.

If you think this blog post rocks, tell me why it rocks in the comment. “Awesome,””Great post,” etc. works for me. Don’t forget to include a link to YOUR most recent blog post.

Subscribe to this blog if you would enjoy keeping up with my thoughts and commentary. Like it, rate it and share it – if you want to give me some love. If you want to fuel my self-esteem and help me to one day negotiate a fair and handsome contract for my epic science fiction novel, please like my fan page on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Faryna.FanPage

20 Responses to WTD: someone very special for my online stalker

  1. This is funny. It should be made into a longer story. I’d think it would be more than timely. Stan write about this subject pleeease!!

  2. billdorman says:

    Very good but in a scary kind of way because of probably the ‘truth’ associated with it…….

    • Stan Faryna says:

      It is ridiculous as it is crushing, my friend. Turning your back on someone who needs help because you can’t help them and they are dragging you down into the darkness with them, sucks.

  3. Someone recommended I read this from Twitter, there needs to be some sort of blog stalkers anonymous, sadly. Not for the stalkers, they don’t need help and rationalize their crazy; but for the innocent people they stalk. Here’s to an empty inbox! Great post.

  4. This one really flows, Stan.

    You had me fooled there for a moment, I thought this was real.

  5. I was stalked like this once, you know, on Flickr. By this Canadian lady who was a few marbles short of a sandwich. (Yeah, I like to say it that way, makes them sound even crazier.)

    She maintained that she knew Kabbalistic secrets of True Kabbalah that they didn’t teach in Rabbinical schools. She maintained several pseudonymous Flickr accounts and her sock puppets all wrote gushing testimonials about each other.

    Add insult to injury, she wanted me to be part of some occultic stable of photographers whom she would blog about and more or less — I don’t know, really — follow her directions. When she realized I didn’t want to play her games, she contemptuously declared she was “losing patients [sic] with me.” That I was “obviously in it for the money.”

    When she wrote that in an email, I was kind of green at the time (my Flickr account runs back years) and was on the verge of sending her a nasty email about her not knowing the first thing about me and explaining how I hadn’t made a penny from my pictures, so her arguments didn’t hold any water.

    I refrained from doing so, fortunately. I just blocked her. There’s no talking a lunatic out of his or her unstinting faith in their delusions — I would clearly be wasting my time. Glad I moved on. I hope she’s happy and safe, really.

    • Kabbalah is very interesting and man has it been twisted by some people, but that is a story for a different day.

    • Stan Faryna says:

      “…a few marbles short of a sandwich.”

      Love that. Very effective too.

      I recommend blocking if your patience is being tried beyond measure. Social is a permission based platform in a manner of speaking. Savvy people in social know when the connection is dead and they usually back off. Unless something else is going on.

      Myself, I understand that OCD, for example, is difficult to manage and I try to be considerate when dealing with a potential OCD situation. Being online for 20+ years, I’ve come to some conclusions about how hyperactive online messaging (chat, email, comments, etc.) can be driven by a person’s desperate need for relief from their OC anxieties.

      You can set up Gmail, for example, to filter and automatically trash messages. It becomes a challenge, however, when they make a new account (email or whatever) every time you block/manage their old account.

      According to Wikipedia, OCD is the fourth most common mental disorder. Not to mention that OC behaviors are related to other disorders. In other words, OC behaviors are prolific online. I see a lot of such behavior in the B-list (and lesser) bloggers and commenters.

      If you have 100 faithful commenters, for example, I’ll bet a minimum of 20 percent are driven by by OC behaviors.

    • Stan Faryna says:

      I tend to avoid bloggers and commenters where i observe four or more of the typical OC behaviors. Here’s three:

      1. Consistently poor reading comprehension despite their obvious meticulous attention to detail.

      For example:

      Replying to a blog post about how klout may one day become as problematic as a credit rating…

      “Did you have to write, fuck, three times? So why don’t you like klout? It’s just a number. It doesn’t mean anything to me. I like to give K+s because it makes people happy.”

      2. Risk avoidance and hyper-active suspicion – doubt – mistrust

      For example:

      “You should know that I’ve never shared myself like I have with you. But I can’t trust you now. Not after you wrote about the problem of stealing in that comment on Jack’s blog. I know you were talking about me! How could you do that to me?!”

      3. Overwhelming false consciousness about themselves, their values, etc.

      For example:

      “I’m miserable, angry, and desperate. It’s like I can’t breathe!

      But there is no darkness in me. I am full of light, joy and love. There is light all around me. God loves me. How dare you say that I am in darkness! You don’t know the first thing about me!”

  6. Stan,

    This was very good because you made it feel real and authentic. It was/is far too easy to see all that you laid out. Well done.

  7. […] of @TheJackB; @Billy_Delaney; the chick magnet JMBell at @StartYourNovel; Stan the man himself (@Faryna); and yours truly for a write club if you will. It has the makings of something unique and […]

Speak from your heart!