The Desiderata. A how to – for living graciously. Faryna Podcast EP6.

A Reading of the Desiderata
by Stan Faryna

Play the soundcloud player to hear the podcast. Or download it here. The podcast sounds awesome with earphones or played on hi-fi speakers. Try it and tell me what you think.

Mobile users: you should be able to hear the podcast here.

The Desiderata

Go placidly amid the noise and the haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence. As far as possible without surrender be on good terms with all persons. Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even to the dull and the ignorant, they too have their story. Avoid loud and aggressive persons, they are vexations to the spirit.

If you compare yourself with others, you may become vain or bitter; for always there will be greater and lesser persons than yourself. Enjoy your achievements as well as your plans. Keep interested in your own career, however humble; it is a real possession in the changing fortunes of time.

Exercise caution in your business affairs, for the world is full of trickery. But let not this blind you to what virtue there is; many persons strive for high ideals, and everywhere life is full of heroism. Be yourself. Especially do not feign affection. Neither be cynical about love; for in the face of all aridity and disenchantment it is as perennial as the grass. Take kindly the counsel of the years, gracefully surrendering the things of youth.

Nurture strength of spirit to shield you in sudden misfortune. But do not distress yourself with dark imaginings. Many fears are born of fatigue and loneliness. Beyond a wholesome discipline, be gentle with yourself. You are a child of the universe, no less than the trees and the stars; you have a right to be here. And whether or not it is clear to you, no doubt the universe is unfolding as it should.

Therefore, be at peace with God, whatever you conceive Him to be. And whatever your labors and aspirations in the noisy confusion of life, keep peace in your soul. With all its sham, drudgery and broken dreams; it is still a beautiful world. Be cheerful.

Strive to be happy.

Stan Faryna
29 July 2011
Bucharest, Romania

P.S. I am not the author of The Desiderata.

Faryna Podcasts recently produced by Adrian Klein:

1. Why do I blog: Faryna Podcast EP1
http://wp.me/pbg0R-kX

2. If Tomorrow Was Your Last Day: Faryna Podcast EP2
http://wp.me/pbg0R-la

3. Money Can’t Buy Happiness: Faryna Podcast EP3
http://wp.me/pbg0R-lv

4. The First Duty of Love is to Listen: Faryna Podcast EP4
http://wp.me/pbg0R-lO

5. Are You Ready for Love? Faryna Podcast EP5
http://wp.me/pbg0R-lX

Note: If you want to make a professional podcast out of your blog post, get in touch with Adrian Klein on Twitter or Facebook.

Faryna Podcast EP6 Information
Some rights reserved regarding the reading by Stan Faryna.
Produced by Adrian Klein. http://www.adrianklein.co.uk

18 Responses to The Desiderata. A how to – for living graciously. Faryna Podcast EP6.

  1. alaskachick says:

    Stan.
    It’s funny how life works, I think. The Desiderata was my high school graduating class motto. Class of 1988, Sherman Central, Sherman, New York.

    Listening to you read it, was an honor to hear it. It made the words so much more than only words, written so long ago by a name most don’t know. (Max Ehrmann, in the 1920’s) Every word, which I certainly haven’t read in far too long, meant more to me, this day than ever before.

    Stan, being brutally honest and speaking only from my heart, I am shamed. These words, that had a place in my life-so there is no excuse- are speaking directly to me. Has it taken me so long to be ready to hear every word? For it to mean all it does? .. I am so glad I was here today.

    Thank you. Thank you for reminding me. Your friend.

  2. I can’t believe you posted this today…this is one of my favourite poems ever! I send it to friends, family and re-read it myself, when I need a reminder of how to live well and stay in gratitude. Every time I come to your blog, things have changed.. The red nose photo is hilarious, lol

  3. […] 6. Reading The Desiderata. http://wp.me/pbg0R-mr […]

  4. Betsy Cross says:

    Feeling very ignorant never having even heard of the Desiderata! Oh well. Truth comes from all things. This is must one more bit of evidence of that fact. What a beautiful soul to be able to express these thoughts so clearly.

  5. […] 6. Reading The Desiderata. http://wp.me/pbg0R-mr […]

  6. […] 6. Reading The Desiderata. http://wp.me/pbg0R-mr […]

Speak from your heart!