Why This Blog Post Sucks! And other social media DOHs.

Why This Blog Post Sucks.
by Stan Faryna

Stan Faryna

Pink Floyd, Money


This blog post sucks. Don’t write a blog post like I have done here. There’s no happy place here. That’s going to be your take away.

Because a good blog post gives clear, straightforward answers that are instantly applicable. A great blog post quickly resolves confusions, questions, and unwanted emotions. An honorable reader, such as yourself, expects a quick clarification – even if it is a lie. That’s why lists rock even if they don’t help you. The love for short lists speaks volumes of our naïveté as readers and bloggers.

One problematic is that the illumination does not transfer directly or readily. Not from one to one. Nor one to many. Worse, there is rarely a true illumination to be transferred even if such transfer were possible. Learning is not a sport of indiscriminate consumption that most of us believe it to be. Understanding a thing requires much reflection, comparison, inner struggle, and judgment until we know the thing simply as it is. Until you do the homework for yourself, you can not understand it. Even if that thing is presented to you in all its naked beauty upon a silver platter.

For example, Aristotle, Aquinas, and Wojtyla juggle a seeming infinity of silver platters like few others can. And hardly anyone reads them.

True illumination is rare and yet, ironically, we tend to appreciate true illumination least even when it is presented to us on a silver platter. Because it is so alien to our understanding of things. To our own experience.

The Sermon on the Mount is an excellent example of the alien aspect of true illuminations. The sermon presents us with nine paradoxes. They boldly fly in the face of our own experience in the world and humanity!

Merriam Webster defines a paradox in several ways. I will cite the first two definitions here:

1. a tenet contrary to received opinion
2. a statement that is seemingly contradictory or opposed to common sense and yet is perhaps true

Below is the nine epic blessings that Christ speaks about in his Sermon of the Mount:

Blessed are the poor in spirit: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are they that mourn: for they shall be comforted.

Blessed are the meek: for they shall inherit the earth.

Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled.

Blessed are the merciful: for they shall obtain mercy.

Blessed are the pure in heart: for they shall see God.

Blessed are the peacemakers: for they shall be called the children of God.

Blessed are they which are persecuted for righteousness’ sake: for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.

Blessed are ye, when men shall revile you, and persecute you, and shall say all manner of evil against you falsely, for my sake.

You don’t have to be a Christian or non-Christian to observe the paradox of each blessing above.

But you do have to have some maturity, understanding, and experience as a human person living in our present time and world. There’s actually no point for me explain them to you – if you don’t see the paradoxes in each blessing. In you cannot see the paradoxes, the example will not help you get to the illuminations.

That doesn’t mean you are stupid. Nor does it mean that I am lazy. It’s just like that.

I had wanted to write a blog post about how you can make one million dollars in five years. I’ve done it in less time, myself. But then I considered that you won’t even make ten thousand dollars if I just gave you clear, straightforward instructions via a list.

Actually, you could lose more than twenty thousand dollars – if you could even come up with the money from family, friends, re-financing, cashing out on a retirement plan, etc. Honestly, I couldn’t bear to lead you into such epic misfortune and misery.

If a list would surely mislead you – just as all lists do mislead us in one way or another, then I thought that I should endeavor to write an epic blog post. 10,000 words or more. But how would I overcome the three problematics of an illumination?

In fact, I cannot overcome them without considerable commitment and, yes, charge to do so. They are epic challenges to be sure.

Instead, I present to you the formula for the blog post that should never be written. It is also an epic formula for worst practices in business, friendship, and writing in general.

1. Promise what you can not give- it is easy to give something that you do not own
2. Mislead others – nevermind that your enthusiasm for a thing you do not know will cause someone trouble
3. Quickly get the other to a happy place that makes them feel good but does not help them resolve issues

Postscript:

Often understanding comes from our persistent discovery of our deepest disagreements with what we have learned. As Anthony Hecht, an important American poet, once explained…

A good teacher (who need not be present, or even alive) is one who provokes you to serious, long-term thought.

Those with whom you come to quick agreement in feeling (happy places) do not lead you to those precious few, bitterly battled, and hard won conclusions of inner struggle and dialectical imagination.

If you agree that this blog post sucks, let me know in your comment and don’t forget to include a link to your best blog post.

If you think this blog post rocks, tell me why it rocks in the comment. “Awesome,””Great post,” etc. works for me. Don’t forget to include a link to your recent blog post.

AND if you could do me the favor of tweeting out the message below, I would be grateful to you.

A Fan Letter to Penelope Trunk and her farmer by @Faryna cc: @penelopetrunk http://wp.me/pbg0R-qQ

Stan Faryna
12 October 2011
Bucharest, Romania

P.S. Your $5 can make a difference. If you can get 10 of your friends to give $5 too, you will make an even bigger difference. Please help Nisha to help others.

Blog Soup

1. Blog Soup: 2011.10.06 http://wp.me/pbg0R-r7

2. Blog Soup: 2011.09.22 http://wp.me/pbg0R-pF

3. Blog Soup: 2011:10:10 http://wp.me/pbg0R-rO

Faryna Podcasts

1. Why do I blog: http://wp.me/pbg0R-kX

2. If Tomorrow Was Your Last Day: http://wp.me/pbg0R-la

3. Money Can’t Buy Happiness: http://wp.me/pbg0R-lv

4. The First Duty of Love is to Listen: http://wp.me/pbg0R-lO

5. Are You Ready for Love? http://wp.me/pbg0R-lX

6. Reading The Desiderata. http://wp.me/pbg0R-mr

7. What is Love? http://wp.me/pbg0R-mw

8. Confessions of a Freak-Geek-Misfit. http://wp.me/pbg0R-nJ

9. Do you love strongly? http://wp.me/pbg0R-nY

10. Empty-handed, Less Traveled Roads. http://wp.me/pbg0R-on

11. The Economics of Friendship. http://wp.me/pbg0R-oU

12. Do Not Be Afraid. http://wp.me/pbg0R-p9

35 Responses to Why This Blog Post Sucks! And other social media DOHs.

  1. Stan, I think you and Bill Dorman have been collaborating. I don’t come to your blog for answers, I come for experiences. You make me question, explore, think, examine, contemplate and then question some more. If I want lists and answers, there are plenty of other blogs willing to supply those.

    As far as my best blog post, I have trouble deciding, but this is definitely at the top: https://stanfaryna.wordpress.com/2011/09/05/do-not-be-afraid-and-other-social-media-dohs/

    • Stan Faryna says:

      Big hug to you Carolyn.

      I’d like a charming neighborhood with an old world, downtown ambience, boutique shops, cafes and restaurants, and neighbors like you, Amber-Lee, Betsy, Bonnie, Dr. Jack King, Bill Dorman, Marcus Baker, Jack Steiner and some other people too.

      How’s that for a happy place?

      Silly, you were supposed to give a link to one of your blog posts!

      So, um, I have to wait until tomorrow to put up a link to your next blog post from the Philly.

      Thank you, Carolyn. Your compliment helps to reconnect me to my feeling that I’m doing something (however small) worthwhile with my blogging. Because the doubts of those closest to me suggest that I do not do enough good one blog post at a time.

      As for Bill Dorman, Bill is too smart to throw in with loose cannons and false teachers such as myself. [grin] Don’t let his gentle modesty fool you, he is most certainly a man of discriminating good taste, common sense, and excellent manner.

  2. Betsy Cross says:

    This, I think has been my problem lately. It’s the reason I deleted my last post. I shouldn’t look at stats, but I do. I know what resonates with the “happy place” people want to be in or brought to. And much of what I think about doesn’t make people comfortable. Maybe I expect too much. Perhaps no one understands what’s going on in my head. But I HAVE to get it out! There’s an accountability issue in my thoughts that I wrestle with.
    And though I’m fairly certain that most of Christ’s followers took what he said and applied it in faith, many had a hard time shifting from what they’d lived to what was best. He promised peace for their internal struggles, but they were looking for relief from their outward oppressors, the Romans.
    For me the answers on how to be, or how to write a good blog post (if there is such a thing) is to know that it comes from inside of you, and that you are just the messenger. I fail in that all the time. I want people to love me and to be uplifting! But that comes from within THEM, not from me.
    As far as the making-money-how-to’s…some of us are just cut from a different mold. You’re right. If I wanted it I could have it. But the sacrifices are too great for me.

    • Stan Faryna says:

      Big hug to you Betsy!

      Let it out. Speak your heart. Be it from the dark side or from light. I will continue to read you. And I imagine others will too.

      You ask a good question.

      What is a good blog post in the most simple terms? I suspect that the answer is this: a good blog post is that blog post that you weigh carefully in your heart and conscience and judge it to be important – regardless of any other consideration.

      But don’t stop at my cheat. Keep asking that question. Wrestle with it. For years – if that’s how long it takes. Better answers, like fine wine and spirits, can take 20 years or more.

      Write, Betsy! Write!

  3. Aristotle, Aquinas, and Wojtyla? New rock group?

  4. alaskachick says:

    Stan,
    This blog post doesn’t suck! (and you know it!) My favorite blog posts, always, are the ones that make me think.

    I think when you write something that makes people think, you’ve done something worthy. Looking for clear-cut answers, solutions ~well, they come at times, like figuring out how to find a good commenting system. Otherwise, (or in other words) look it up.

    But when you can write something and it opens another person’s mind to possibilities or gives them hope or reminds them of a long forgotten lesson and or direction~ it makes a difference. Isn’t that why we are here, right now? Trying to make a difference?

    When a post fills me with possibilities or hope for our one race (human), it has done something very special. I have found so much on line. I would go so far as to say it has saved me and made me a better human.

    Like Betsy, I want so much to know when I hit publish I have fulfilled my task as a messenger. I am (mostly) not disappointed, though. I know and believe in my heart that I will be ready when the words come.

    We each have our own dreams and goals for being online, each of us has a purpose. I have shared mine with so many countless times and I know it will take only the right key in the right lock. Sometimes (like last night) it is so very hard to hold onto that belief….faith, if you will. Until I realize that if it is (becoming) hard to hold onto, then I understand that the feelings of defeat and hopelessness is coming from believing that I am sailing this boat all on my own.

    The thing is, Stan, each one of us… here and there, are bound together and until we, each one of us understands, there will always be questions, unhappiness and discontent.

    Thank you for making me think, Stan. Thank you for being there. Here. Always.
    Your friend,
    Amber-Lee

  5. Stan Faryna says:

    Write, Amber-Lee! Write.

    There is much more in my heart to share with you. But I do not feel well and I hope you will forgive me for failing to respond at length.

  6. So, I couldn’t tell if this was a dig at my ‘lists’ post or not; but then that would be presumptuous to think my post even made it into your stream of consciousness, huh?

    I see where you are going with this and I do want you to feel like there was some value to be gained if you read a post of mine, but I’m probably not going to mentally challenge you at the depth you are accustomed to. I don’t expect my posts to be some quick fix feel good remedy, but if it put a smile on your face or made you think of a happy time, then that works for me.

    The one thing I can promise you is I will be myself. It will be as close to the real me as anyone can get; but that is about all I can promise. For what it’s worth, I hope that is worth something.

    I don’t really have a ‘best of’ post so guess what, you get my ‘best of’ post attached. http://billdorman.me/2011/10/10/do-best-of-posts-really-have-value/

    Hope you get to feeling better; we’ll be here when you are back to the Stan we know and love.

    • Okay, maybe I’m completely off base here, but I thought you and Stan had the same message this week: don’t phone in your blog posts. Make them real. Don’t write for the sake of writing.

      But I could be wrong…

    • Yeah, Bill, giving you props is what I do. I could write a niche blog on the subject! 😀

      I don’t think Stan was giving you a dig, I think he was channeling you.

      • Stan Faryna says:

        I would give my chow chow’s right ear to have half of Bill’s charm and gracious manner.

        A chow chow’s ear is a precious treasure, mind you. 100 rabbits’ feet can not compare. [laughing]

    • Stan Faryna says:

      Rest assured, Bill. There is no digging. Nor roasting. Not for Bill Dorman. Not on my blog! [grin] Not on my watch!

      Your modesty ever behooves you. I may go deep, but I make no claims to high intelligence. I gave up such claims some years ago. I embraced my dumb. [grin] I really did!

      Like you Bill, I am just being me. With good days and bad – not that I have seen a bad day for Bill Dorman. And, yes, I do think that is worth something.

      I enjoy your online presence a great deal, Bill. Your charm and social manner is authentic, impeccable, and wonderful. I couldn’t imagine a better online community without you.

      I don’t think it’s all about sounding smart, Bill. The human experience is not founded only upon reason, but also emotion. Pure reason, I suspect, has a heart greater than we can imagine. Kant was unable to comprehend the mystery.

      Of course, there are people that rub me wrong. You are not one of them, Bill.

      It’s the people who feign friendship, those who only know how to take, and/or those who negotiate in counterfeit knowledge, wisdom, and heart. That’s not you, Bill. But they are among us.

      It’s those kind of people who are in a desperate situation, unable to pay the bills, and willing to step on others on a ladder to nowhere. They are the enemy of community. Of friendship.

      My accusations and complaints fly to them like a scorpion’s stinger.

      There are also those in desperate and unfortunate situations that shine bright, make a difference, and give large from their hearts. They are salt of the earth. In other words, epic!

      • billdorman says:

        Kind words indeed sir; much appreciated.

        Hopefully your personal situation doesn’t dictate your character; that is something you should always be true to regardless to your station in life.

  7. Your blog posts are more like “surreal happenings” for me. When I begin reading one, I usually have no idea where I’m going to end up. What I do know is that you’ll always get me thinking about things and possibilities I wasn’t even intending to think about! Love your blog and, of course, I’ll be back!

  8. Chiming in with Carolyn Mohr, I, too, come to your blog for the experience du jour. Blog foulness takes an endless number of forms, alas. I think most is forgiven when the post is also considerate to the reader (i.e. who the hell has time to read a 0K word post – unless it is by, say, Noam Chomsky…?) and also provides solid take-away value. I keep those factors in the forefront of my mind when I write.

  9. Stan Faryna says:

    I don’t know if Chomsky is still relevant. But @osakasaul, I believe, is relevant with his Triberr reach of seven million. [grin]

  10. Paul Morin says:

    Stan, you made me think. That created value (for me at least). I think that’s all any of us can hope for in our writing, coaching, consulting, entreprenuering, etc. Whether that value comes in the form of a list, a longer blog post, a picture, a poem, whatever, I don’t think it matters. The form in which you provide value should mirror the form in which your readers, clients, fans, etc. want to consume it. I don’t fault people for wanting to consume information in bite-sized chunks, any more than I fault them for wanting to consume it in video or audio instead of print. To each their own, as the seeing goes. Live and let live. Undoubtedly, certain blogs and certain social media platforms attract more cerebral consumers of information than others. That’s good. Variety is the spice of life. There is a theme in your communications about the lack of sincerity and intellectual depth in certain social media communications. Obviously that doesn’t surprise you, given the depth of your experience. It does not surprise me or upset me either. It is what it is. There is nothing inherently wrong with short blog posts, or list blog posts, or 140 character communications. Different horses for different courses. This blog post doesn’t suck. It is what it is. There’s value in the reminders that you provide so well. I have taken many of them to heart. [e.g. #FF lists of Twitter names don’t add any value and are essentially spam]. Keep doing what you’re doing, Stan. You’re good at it. Paul

    • Stan Faryna says:

      Thanks for coming by, Paul. That means a lot to me. Go #KIWK!

      Like Bill, you go gently amid the noise. [grin] I regret sometimes that I am not as gentle as I ought. For example, I feel that evil must be confronted. I want to rush to that fight like a moth to flame. Of course, as a problem solver, I look for the opportunity to do so. That’s not to say I put my nose in anyone’s business – magnitude, urgency, and opportunity must bear upon prudence.

      I do agree with you that there are many ways to share accurate information, strong feelings, and humane concerns. Myself, I am limited by my own lack of competence and skills to make effective podcasts and video without assistance. It bums me out.

      Honestly, I don’t know if I fault people as much as I get bummed out about the problem of self-absorbed interests, self-deceit, and false-consciousness. But it’s entirely possible that I often express my concern regarding these things poorly.

  11. You know what your blog post did for me? It made me realize that I really don’t care what people think about my blog posts, my posts may suck to some and I am not taking it personal. I get messages from people who some call haters, who knows maybe they are not haters maybe the article sucks to them, maybe the article just doesn’t have value since it’s probably information they already know. That is OK, but guess what I have a dozen other comments from people saying thank you, and that’s how I know that my blog post doesn’t suck, when it has helped at least one other person. I am not here for a numbers game, I am here to change lives. I think you are too Stan, so rock on buddy!

    This is one of those emotional posts that I just felt like writing, some may think it sucks but it was comforting to others going through the same thing so this is why I am sharing: http://www.giglogo.com/2011/09/18/letting-go-of-that-toxic-relationship-even-if-you-love-the-person/

  12. Amberr Meadows says:

    Stan, I’ve been by for a few visits, and I come here for the experience, not for how you help me to build my brand, become a social media super hero, or to tell me what a guru you are.

    Ahhh, sweet relief. Someone who is real and not annoying. Thanks for that.

    My best post(or at least the post that yielded the highest response): http://www.amberrisme.com/2011/09/dont-blog-about-god.html (probably unsurprising, given the nature of the content).

    P.S. The post does not suck, and the formula to write a bad post is spot-on.

    • Stan Faryna says:

      Big hug to you Amberr!

      I’m off to read your blog post, Don’t Blog About God.

    • Stan Faryna says:

      Ok, I read your post and I’m back. [smile]

      Yes, write about the things you feel strongly about!

      Your strong feelings about God should be shared.

  13. Your blog post definitely doesn’t suck. But it does make me have to think and that’s what so many people don’t want to do. That’s why list posts are so popular. They want to have things spoon-fed to them. The problem arises because they don’t know what to do after they have it in their mouths!

    • Stan Faryna says:

      What do we do once a spoon-fed thing is in our mouth?

      Do we chew it and discover it or do we swallow it whole?

  14. […] [toread] [priv] The unofficial blog of Stan Faryna – Pink Floyd, Money […]

Speak from your heart!