The Final Speech of the Great Dictator by Sir Charles Chaplin

The Final Speech of the Great Dictator
by Charlie Chaplin

Sir Charles Chaplin, The Final Speech of the Great Dictator

Subtitles for The Final Speech of the Great Dictator

Spanish – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gEAp8HRyjxo
Chinese – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ehBTKbGBvHc
French – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JhiMZIh3XiA
Hungarian – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5J0D1cHARMc
German – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8zlNXO25-kc
Dutch – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dPmRsEsISE8
Greek – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nR0ZRMZ9y_I
Portuguese – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7CE35ka2daM

Below is the text of The Final Speech of the Great Dictator, delivered by the character, the Jewish Barber, in Chaplin’s 1940 film, The Great Dictator. The Jewish Barber was played by Sir Charles Chaplin.

I’m sorry, but I don’t want to be an emperor. That’s not my business. I don’t want to rule or conquer anyone. I should like to help everyone if possible- Jew, Gentile, black men, white…

We all want to help one another. Human beings are like that. We want to live by each others’ happiness, not by each other’s misery. We don’t want to hate and despise one another. In this world there is room for everyone. And the good earth is rich and can provide for everyone. The way of life can be free and beautiful, but we have lost the way.

Greed has poisoned men’s souls; has barricaded the world with hate; has goose-stepped us into misery and bloodshed. We have developed speed, but we have shut ourselves in. Machinery that gives abundance has left us in want. Our knowledge has made us cynical; our cleverness, hard and unkind.

We think too much and feel too little. More than machinery ,we need humanity. More than cleverness, we need kindness and gentleness. Without these qualities, life will be violent and all will be lost. The aeroplane and the radio have brought us closer together. The very nature of these inventions cries out for the goodness in man; cries out for universal brotherhood; for the unity of us all.

Even now my voice is reaching millions throughout the world, millions of despairing men, women, and little children, victims of a system that makes men torture and imprison innocent people.

To those who can hear me, I say “Do not despair.”

The misery that is now upon us is but the passing of greed, the bitterness of men who fear the way of human progress. The hate of men will pass, and dictators die, and the power they took from the people will return to the people. And so long as men die, liberty will never perish.

Soldiers! Don’t give yourselves to brutes, men who despise you and enslave you; who regiment your lives, tell you what to do, what to think and what to feel! Who drill you, diet you, treat you like cattle, use you as cannon fodder!

Don’t give yourselves to these unnatural men—machine men with machine minds and machine hearts! You are not machines! You are not cattle! You are men! You have a love of humanity in your hearts! You don’t hate!

Only the unloved hate; the unloved and the unnatural.

Soldiers! Don’t fight for slavery! Fight for liberty!

In the seventeenth chapter of St. Luke, it’s written “the kingdom of God is within man”, not one man nor a group of men, but in all men! In you! You, the people, have the power, the power to create machines, the power to create happiness! You, the people, have the power to make this life free and beautiful, to make this life a wonderful adventure. Then in the name of democracy, let us use that power.

Let us all unite.

Let us fight for a new world, a decent world that will give men a chance to work, that will give youth a future and old age a security. By the promise of these things, brutes have risen to power. But they lie! They do not fulfill their promise. They never will!

Dictators free themselves but they enslave the people!

Now let us fight to fulfill that promise! Let us fight to free the world! To do away with national barriers! To do away with greed, with hate and intolerance!

Let us fight for a world of reason, a world where science and progress will lead to all men’s happiness.

Soldiers, in the name of democracy, let us all unite!

Please join me in brainstorming about new vision for online communities here. Or join me for an adventure in sci fi.

I enthusiastically welcome your humble and/or creative contribution to creating our own brave, new future of we!

Stan Faryna
3 October 2011
Bucharest, Romania

P.S. Your $5 can make a difference. If you can get 10 of your friends to give $5 too, you will make an even bigger difference. Please help Nisha to help others.

Faryna Podcasts recently produced by Adrian Klein:

1. Why do I blog: Faryna Podcast EP1
http://wp.me/pbg0R-kX

2. If Tomorrow Was Your Last Day: Faryna Podcast EP2
http://wp.me/pbg0R-la

3. Money Can’t Buy Happiness: Faryna Podcast EP3
http://wp.me/pbg0R-lv

4. The First Duty of Love is to Listen: Faryna Podcast EP4
http://wp.me/pbg0R-lO

5. Are You Ready for Love? Faryna Podcast EP5
http://wp.me/pbg0R-lX

6. Reading The Desiderata. Faryna Podcast EP6
http://wp.me/pbg0R-mr

7. What is Love? Faryna Podcast EP7
http://wp.me/pbg0R-mw

8. Confessions of a Freak-Geek-Misfit. Faryna Podcast EP8
http://wp.me/pbg0R-nJ

9. Do you love strongly? Faryna Podcast EP9
http://wp.me/pbg0R-nY

10. Empty-handed, Less Traveled Roads. Faryna Podcast EP10
http://wp.me/pbg0R-on

11. The Economics of Friendship. Faryna Podcast EP11
http://wp.me/pbg0R-oU

12. Do Not Be Afraid. Faryna Podcast EP12
http://wp.me/pbg0R-p9

Note: If you want to make a professional podcast out of your blog post, get in touch with Adrian Klein on Twitter or Facebook.

26 Responses to The Final Speech of the Great Dictator by Sir Charles Chaplin

  1. Betsy Cross says:

    Wow! Where do you find these things?

    I have only one thing to add.

    The gospel of Jesus Christ is the only thing that truly unites. Everything else is will have its shortcomings. There is nothing temporal that is not spiritual. They go hand in hand. I know that that sound preachy and can even anger a lot of people. But it’s true. That’s where I stand. You don’t even have to believe there’s a God or that Christ is is Son. But you can learn about the truths He teaches and apply them to everything you do, even an online community and watch it flourish.

  2. Stan Faryna says:

    Disclaimer:

    I would like to think that God brought me to this Youtube video. And when the tears poured from my eyes as I listened… I believed that I knew what God wanted me to do with this video.

  3. Wow…just wow. I’m overwhelmed. I have no words. I will sit with my emotions and let them wash through and over me until words come.

  4. This is incredible. Like Kaarina, I am speechless. Here, but speechless. Amazing.

    • Stan Faryna says:

      Big hug Ameena!

      I listened to it three times to see if I felt the same way each time. Tears fell each time.

  5. I’m with Betsy as far as God’s Master Plan is concerned. There is a Master Plan, but we’re doing our best to foul it up. Personally, I think things got much worse with the advent of the “Me Generation”–we shifted our focus from “community” to the individual and we seemed to get everything backwards. Instead of focusing on bringing out the best in everyone, we narrowed our focus to ourselves–definitely not what God had in mind. I think back to the days where there was an emphasis on (and a need for) “community” complete with community barn raisings, potluck suppers, Sundays reserved for God and family, and neighbor helping neighbor. Those were the days when a handshake was all that was needed–not pages and pages of legalistic documents in triplicate which no one can even understand. I won’t even touch the political arena–our politicians seem to have totally lost touch with the “common majority” which is us. Great topic!

  6. Stan,

    You know it is interesting to me that as I listened and read this transcript, there were places I was inspired…but also places that left me empty. Probably the most inspiring line out of this whole speech for me was this: “And so long as men die, liberty will never perish.”
    I am a man of deep faith…but I have very little faith in humanity or the ability of reason and science to lead us to “all mens’ happiness.” The current state of the world is a demonstration of our inability to make things right or to bring peace into the world, much less the hearts of humanity. A world where 150+ million orphans go to sleep without the loving arms of a mother and father is but one of the results of humanitys’ efforts to rule this world.
    Thus, back to the almost morbid thought, that it is death that keeps us free. For those of us who believe the Bible has the answers for which we so long, the limitation on life that God our creator has declared is found to be an act of mercy. How miserable we would be, to be allowed to live forever in our current evil state.
    I freely confess, I am a selfish, greedy, power-hungry man by nature. It is only God, by His grace and mercy, that has given me the ability to truly love others and seek their good…and even then, I often fail to do that. Thanks for a fresh challenge to continue to fight the good fight, my friend.

    • Stan Faryna says:

      You went deep, James. And I knew that deep is what you do. Your quiet, gentle manner does not disguise your deep and cunning mind. [laughing]

  7. swicth says:

    this is, doubtless, one of the greatest speeches ever made. I sincerely believe in every word said in it and think we should fight to, at least, change a part of the world. maybe, we will only change ourselves, but it’s a great step towards a better future!

  8. […] games are an invention that will serve our humanity. Because, just as Charlie Chaplin (as the Great Dictator) explained about the invention of the aeroplane and radio, “the very nature of these […]

  9. Sing. says:

    Thanks for sharing.

    I just finished watching the movie.
    truly touched by the speech.

    it’s really great!

  10. masterimage says:

    i’ve watched this video more then 10 times now, I shared it to my friends and they were speechless. I can watch this video over and over again and everytime i get a warm feeling inside of me. this video helped me when i was sad to put a smile on my face. this video was simply amazing and it still is.

  11. Ejaz Ahmad says:

    @Betsy Cross. This speech is especially for people like you, Do not impose or try to impose your religion(Christian) on other. If I say Islam is best option of all, so it will also hurts you and other member. As it is fact that Islam is the only solution for all problems but still I do not want to impose it on you or any one other. Most of us just try to see only the black side of every thing. Once you should study Islam. I am suggesting you as a brother as a kind one to you and all others…

  12. It saddens me to see all these comments about god, in order for humanity to reach its full potential all religion must be put aside. The values expressed in this speech (fiction or not) are not attributed to one system of belief, but to all men who possess within them true morality. Until we can get passed our delusion with god, humanity will suffer.

    • Morality is evidence of God’s existence.

      This speech is inspired by faith in one and true God, Jesus Christ.

      Oscar, we have clues of this dotted around in the world around us, please look for them.

      • Are all your sentences baseless claims when you talk in real life too, because you’re 3/3 here? Hume and many others laid waste to your first claim. The burden of proof is on you, not someone that doesn’t believe in your god that you have no evidence for.

        We’re all in this together and creating division with different man-made gods is not helping anything in the world and completely missing the point of the speech.

  13. Rob Milliken says:

    Is there a good Romanian translation of this speech yet? I’d like to share…

Speak from your heart!